Microsoft Validation Issue

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Liz

Thread Starter
Joined
May 4, 2000
Messages
306
A couple of weeks ago, I got a message that my Microsoft software may not be valid and when I clicked on the message to get more info, I was taken to a site to purchase valid software Windows 7. I do not want Windows 7 and am happy with xp. I have never had a problem before and I put in the product key with no problem when installing the xp operating system. I received the software with valid cd, product key and everything was properly packaged. Has anyone else received these messages and how can I get these messages to stop popping up? I tried contacting Microsoft and they charge for tech questions. I am confused. Thanks...Liz
 

Liz

Thread Starter
Joined
May 4, 2000
Messages
306
No I didn't put office on this computer. I just installed xp and everything was fine until recently.
 

JennyJackson01

Account Closed
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
638
Liz.

Run full scans of anti- virus, malware and spyware. It`s possible the machine could be infected by some nasty software that`s trying to get you to buy something you don`t need.

Jenny
 

redoak

Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Messages
6,781
I agree! Update your anti-virus and anti-malware programs and do full system scans.
 
Joined
May 20, 2010
Messages
4,038
I agree too...First do a complete good scan, if nothing found you have to contact Microsoft.
 

Frank4d

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Sep 10, 2006
Messages
9,126
The problem can also occur if you made an error typing the CD key when you installed XP, for example 'B' and '8' or 'G' and '6' can be confused. Run a scan using Magical Jellybean Keyfinder: http://www.magicaljellybean.com/keyfinder/ and compare the key it shows to the one you received with your CD. Note: Typos when entering the key is not the issue if Windows activated initially but shows a problem now.
 

Liz

Thread Starter
Joined
May 4, 2000
Messages
306
I did the scan for the cd key and the last 8 digits were missing. How can I redo the cd key without reinstalling the whole system and is that possible? I had to go through an act of congress to get this system up and running and if I need to start all over again installing drivers, framework, etc., I will go nuts. Thanks...Liz
 

Liz

Thread Starter
Joined
May 4, 2000
Messages
306
It seems that the key was correct so I don't know what is going on. I thought I didn't have the last 8 digits but that is actually the proof of license number not the key number. I tried contacting Microsoft via chat and I was told there would be a charge so I didn't continue. This is crazy.
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,796
Please download and run MGADiag.
  • Double-click on MGADiag.exe to launch the program
  • Click "Continue"
  • Ensure that the "Windows" tab is selected (it should be by default).
  • Click the "Copy" button to copy the MGA Diagnostic Report to the Windows clipboard.
  • Paste the MGA Diagnostic Report back here in your next reply.
 

Liz

Thread Starter
Joined
May 4, 2000
Messages
306
Diagnostic Report (1.9.0027.0):
-----------------------------------------
Windows Validation Data-->
Validation Status: Invalid Product Key
Validation Code: 8
Cached Validation Code: N/A
Windows Product Key: *****-*****-VX9WF-FMV4G-KTBHW
Windows Product Key Hash: AbEQn6m9142dakigq/Nw0I4Xh6U=
Windows Product ID: 55274-640-4168351-23546
Windows Product ID Type: 1
Windows License Type: Volume
Windows OS version: 5.1.2600.2.00010100.2.0.pro
ID: {3E72B12A-ECA1-4887-A10A-E0ADCB7240D9}(3)
Is Admin: Yes
TestCab: 0x0
LegitcheckControl ActiveX: Registered, 1.9.42.0
Signed By: Microsoft
Product Name: N/A
Architecture: N/A
Build lab: N/A
TTS Error: N/A
Validation Diagnostic: 025D1FF3-230-1
Resolution Status: N/A

Vista WgaER Data-->
ThreatID(s): N/A
Version: N/A

Windows XP Notifications Data-->
Cached Result: 8
File Exists: Yes
Version: 1.9.40.0
WgaTray.exe Signed By: Microsoft
WgaLogon.dll Signed By: Microsoft

OGA Notifications Data-->
Cached Result: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
Version: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
OGAExec.exe Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
OGAAddin.dll Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002

OGA Data-->
Office Status: 109 N/A
OGA Version: N/A, 0x80070002
Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
Office Diagnostics: B4D0AA8B-543-80070002_025D1FF3-230-1

Browser Data-->
Proxy settings: N/A
User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Win32)
Default Browser: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
Download signed ActiveX controls: Prompt
Download unsigned ActiveX controls: Disabled
Run ActiveX controls and plug-ins: Allowed
Initialize and script ActiveX controls not marked as safe: Disabled
Allow scripting of Internet Explorer Webbrowser control: Disabled
Active scripting: Allowed
Script ActiveX controls marked as safe for scripting: Allowed

File Scan Data-->

Other data-->
Office Details: <GenuineResults><MachineData><UGUID>{3E72B12A-ECA1-4887-A10A-E0ADCB7240D9}</UGUID><Version>1.9.0027.0</Version><OS>5.1.2600.2.00010100.2.0.pro</OS><Architecture>x32</Architecture><PKey>*****-*****-*****-*****-KTBHW</PKey><PID>55274-640-4168351-23546</PID><PIDType>1</PIDType><SID>S-1-5-21-527237240-1767777339-839522115</SID><SYSTEM><Manufacturer>Dell Computer Corporation</Manufacturer><Model>OptiPlex GX270 </Model></SYSTEM><BIOS><Manufacturer>Dell Computer Corporation</Manufacturer><Version>A04</Version><SMBIOSVersion major="2" minor="3"/><Date>20040517000000.000000+000</Date></BIOS><HWID>CD6C3FD701848053</HWID><UserLCID>0409</UserLCID><SystemLCID>0409</SystemLCID><TimeZone>Pacific Standard Time(GMT-08:00)</TimeZone><iJoin>0</iJoin><SBID><stat>3</stat><msppid></msppid><name></name><model></model></SBID><OEM/><GANotification><File Name="WgaTray.exe" Version="1.9.40.0"/><File Name="WgaLogon.dll" Version="1.9.40.0"/></GANotification></MachineData><Software><Office><Result>109</Result><Products/><Applications/></Office></Software></GenuineResults>

Licensing Data-->
N/A

Windows Activation Technologies-->
N/A

HWID Data-->
N/A

OEM Activation 1.0 Data-->
BIOS string matches: yes
Marker string from BIOS: 1B16A:Dell Inc|10008:Microsoft Corporation|1B16A:Microsoft Corporation
Marker string from OEMBIOS.DAT: N/A, hr = 0x80004005

OEM Activation 2.0 Data-->
N/A

It's saying the key is invalid and I didn't have this problem until I installed a new pci card and then reinstalled the xp.
 

Phantom010

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,796
Looks like you do have an invalid product key. Where did you get that copy of Windows XP? On eBay?


Please download and run WVCheck.
  • Double-click WVCheck.exe.
  • As indicated by the prompt, this program can take a while depending on your hard drive space.
  • Once the program is done, copy the contents of the Notepad file as a reply.
 

Liz

Thread Starter
Joined
May 4, 2000
Messages
306
I did get it on ebay but it was sealed and the cd is original along with the key and booklet. When I installed it previously I had no problems with validation. It was when I installed a pci card that the validation problem came up. The computer was a surplus computer from a university and everything was wiped so I started from nothing and it didn't have a pci card installed. I ran it without the pci card and the xp that I installed and the computer was fine but I wanted to update the monitor, etc. so I put the new pci card in. That's when the validation issue came up. The computer is old and I don't think it can handle running Windows 7 and I don't want to put the money into it. On the other hand, I don't want to trash it either. I guess I can live with the validation issue coming up if need be. The computer still operates, it is just annoying that the validation issue pops up. The cd and key are original and they were not tampered with so it is confusing. Everything was brand new. Thanks... Liz
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
3,791

It may have been sealed and appeared new but the folks who sell these systems on e-Bay can do i cheaply for a reason and that reason is usually because it isn't genuine. The WGA utility is updated frequently with Product IDs which M$ have come to consider illegitmate so even though something activated properly once, it may not continue to do so.

I don't believe they charge on the Activation telephone line so if you want to take a chance it will activate again, post back for details on how to force a reacitavation and go through the telephone procedure. If you automated system refuses your request, go through to an adviser and tell them that you made a hardware change, they may - only may, of course, allow a valid PID to be issued.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top