1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Microsoft Word does not open

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by MPerson, May 30, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MPerson

    MPerson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Whenever I try and open Word (frontpage, excel and powerpoint work fine), it says it's "Preparing to install" then it says "Please wait while Windows configures Microsoft Office XP with Frontpage", then goes to a popup that asks to "Insert the 'Microsoft XP Professional with Frontpage' disk and click OK"

    I would, but I lost my Win XP Pro cd... It used to work, but now it won't run, anyone encounter this before?
     
  2. SkyHi

    SkyHi

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    209
    Well, have you tried canceling it and seeing what happens? I assume you have. Okay, try inserting the disk and letting it do it's job?

    -SkyHi
     
  3. MPerson

    MPerson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks for the reply, but if you read my first post, you would see that I lost the disk.. I figured there was a DLL file missing or something, that I could just download into the systems folder or the office folder and it would work.
     
  4. SkyHi

    SkyHi

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    209
    Oh. Whoops, sorry for insulting your intelegence. However, what it is looking for is some files off of the CD, which you can probably .. I know we're not supposed to say this, but in this condition .. download them. I'm not sure where/how *looks around*, but unless you get the CD, or update it or something, you can't really do much then stated above. I'd try the update, if you can.

    -SkyHi
     
  5. MPerson

    MPerson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Don't worry, i've seen my share of computer illiterates... I just figured it needed the install file, so I download the PROPLUS windows installer file and it worked fine... I must've deleted something by accident, thanks :)
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/366871

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice