1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Migrate Role

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by h.yousaf1993, Jan 16, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. h.yousaf1993

h.yousaf1993 Thread Starter

Hi! I'm having issues picking up my current server, which is running windows server 2012 R2 on my new server.

The new server had fresh copy of windows server 2008 R2 installed and was then upgraded to windows server 2012 R2,this was done for learning purpose as I'm a student. Now, I'm trying to migrate the roles etc onto the new server from my old windows server 2012 R2, but having a issue picking up the old server on the new server, they are connected to the same router.

Any help would be great and thanks in advance.

2. Rockn

Rockn

Is this a domain and is the new server a member of this domain? What roles are you trying to transfer to the new server??

3. h.yousaf1993

Thanks the reply!! I have a single server running successfully at home, I think I need help adding the new server to the domain and once added it will solve my issues, what is the best way to add the new server to the current domain? Does this require DNS settings?

Thanks again..

Last edited: Jan 17, 2016
  4. h.yousaf1993

Thanks in advanced.

I'm a student that wants to increase my knowledge in servers and networks, I have set-up one server successfully and have brought another server running windows server 2012 R2, What is the best way to add the server to the current domain, do I need DNS settings, or can the server be connected through the internet router. Any support or advised will be great!

Thanks

5. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob