min specs for Vista?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Paulcopy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 29, 2006
Messages
9
Hi,
Been a while since I've been on, so xp running good for me now. Time for an upgrade........ Headache or no major worries:eek:

system specs: amd athlon 1800+
asrock k7vt2
agp nvidia geforce 5200 128 mb
1 Gb pc 2100 non ecc
xp pro sp2 for now
Dial Up ! wooo hooo!
thx for replies
Paulcopy
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
28
To be honest, i wouldn't install vista with that spec. Stick with XP, honestly, i only joined up to this forum last week and i can see already how many problems people have had with Vista. It's really is not worth the hassel.
 

Paulcopy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 29, 2006
Messages
9
I heard that! used to hate being Gates' test bed, but is my setup just too behind the curve to run it?
btw thx for the rep.
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
28
Well one good thing about Vista is when you install it it bench marks your system to see how good it is. After doing that it will only install what your pc/laptop can handle. but still Vista is a very beefy (to put it in technical terms) OS. you processer simply isn't fast enough and you will need more the 1GB RAM (at least 2gb!).
 

Paulcopy

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 29, 2006
Messages
9
maybe more than 1 or 2 bottlenecks, huh. that's about my luck, if you upgraded say the mobo/cpu/ ram what would be a fair combo (cheap)?

thx for your replies
Paulcopy:cool:
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
28
lol! umm to be honest i'm not sure about general prices at the moment. has been a while since i looked but i know Intel have made a good 2.4 dual core 2 duo CPU, you would also need 2GB DDR2 and mother board i guess depends on what kind of user you are. General bit of surfing email etc, hard core gamer or downloader?

MySeN
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,466
Paulcopy said:
Hi,
Been a while since I've been on, so xp running good for me now. Time for an upgrade........ Headache or no major worries:eek:

system specs: amd athlon 1800+
asrock k7vt2
agp nvidia geforce 5200 128 mb
1 Gb pc 2100 non ecc
xp pro sp2 for now
Dial Up ! wooo hooo!
thx for replies
Paulcopy
Stay with XP, this hardware is too old I'm afraid...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Staff online

Members online

Top