1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

minidisc player won't run on my computer

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by sadeemari, Jul 24, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sadeemari

sadeemari Thread Starter

My computer recognizes the minidisc player and downloads a driver for it, but the minidisc player will not work. I have plugged it into my USB port, but nothing happens. It is a Sony and in the handbook Sony says that I need to contact my computer manufacturer for a USB audio upgrade.

2. Paul Nagel

Paul Nagel

I have no experience with it, but you say that the computer recognizes the player but nothing happens. How is it recognized? Does the player play the disk at all? Can you plug in your earphones and also the usb at the same time and if so, hear music. Have you check the various Volume Control Propetrties to make sure that the one for hte player is not turned down or muted? Post back with more details if possible.

3. sadeemari

sadeemari Thread Starter

When I plug in my minidisc player into my USB port, the computer starts to install drivers to make it work. Then when I go into any media or audio player the computer doesn't give me the option of using the minidisc player. I even went into the control panel and selected the minidisc as my preferred playing device, it does not give me minidisc as an option for preferred recording device.
    I have tried to just record from the computer, by just pressing record on the minidisc, but it doesn't record. i guess i am looking for a downloadable program to use with my minidisc player, maybe that is made for that type of equipment. I can plug in my earphones and USB, but I get no sound. I have checked the volume, it is at the highest and it works for non computer applications.