1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Minimising idle RAM usage?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Bonecrusher123, Apr 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Bonecrusher123

    Bonecrusher123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,005
    Hey guys I'd like to know how to be able to minimise the RAM my system is using to be able to save more ram for games. Anyone have some ideas? I've got 1gig but without anything running I'm sitting at around 300mb of RAM at idle. With Windows XP SP2 Home Edition.

    Thanks

    By the way why does this forum have such a nice font compared to other sites? I just copied it into Word and it's saying it's Times New Roman but it looks so much better than other sites using Times New Roman.

    Cheers guys
     
  2. bonk

    bonk Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    11,097
    Howdy,

    When running games it is a good idea to stop any un-needed processes.

    Check in your task manager and see whats running......I have a list for mine when I play games that I can Stop.

    Check your Page file and see what it is set at also.


    See Page file settings
    • Press the Windows Logo key + Pause Break key together
    • Another screen will open..
    • Click on the Advanced tab
    • Then under Performance click Settings button
    • Then Advanced tab
    • Click the Change button

    As for the font ..the background colours makes a big difference.
     
  3. Bonecrusher123

    Bonecrusher123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,005
    Alright thanks mate

    Custom size:

    Initial size 1536mb
    Maximum size 3072mb
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Personally, I think you're chasing the proverbial "bucket of propwash".

    I think you'll find that Windows takes care of the memory just fine, screwing around to "free" up memory is as likely to do harm as it is to do good.
     
  5. Bonecrusher123

    Bonecrusher123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,005
  6. abhishek456

    abhishek456

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    moreover turnoff ur firewall or change them to gamemode during games

    u can also try some softwares like gamexp(i don't know wether they really work or not) to make ur system setings for better game play
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/567527

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice