1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Minor curiosity after Raid-ing my hard drive.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Markie0425, Apr 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Markie0425

Markie0425 Thread Starter

Hi guys, so this is my first time Raid 0-ing my hard drive, i'm not sure if i did it right.
    So i got two 300gb velociraptor hooked in my board, boot up my pc, went to bios and enabled the Raid.
    On the raid bios window, i create a new volume, choose 2 hard drive (both velociraptor), auto deleted my files and save then restarted. After restarting, it went straight to Windows 7 installation, and after that is done, my Drive C is now almost to 600gb. So in my drive list, i have Drive C and D... but i was just wondering, what is that Local Disk Q: below my Drive D?? Also id checked my windows assessment score, everything is around 7.5 to 7.8 except my Primary hard disk score is 6.3?

2. Gulo Luseus

Gulo Luseus

In revers order.. 6.3 is a fair score. WEI is a waste of time as a rule, and dont bother with it. It needs an SSD to get a higher score, and these are still expensive.

As for the rest, I dont understand. If you have 2 drives in a raid config, you should have a drive c and thats it. I assume that drive D is your CD drive? #as for Q, it may be a USB device, or anything that is plugged in- memory card, etc.

3. crjdriver

crjdriver Moderator

Just some thoughts;
    1 Raid for the home user is a mistake
    2 If you really really must have raid, then use a real raid card. Onboard raid is useless. Just think about it for a min or two. A quality raid controller by itself is going to cost as much or more than a high end mb. What kind of performance do you think you are going to get from onboard raid???