MIracast and windows server 2012 r2: Stuck at connecting.

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DaveTime

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2018
Messages
3
Good day to you, my name's david and i'm having a little trouble at work. My boss has tasked me with setting up a connection from our crm server to a wireless display about 10 feet away from the machine. I've got a miracast wireless adapter in the back of the screen and it's powered on and is capable of receiving a signal, as i've tested it with a windows 10 machine and it connects no problem.

However the server 2012 r2 machine refuses to connect. Whenever attempting connection, it will see it in the list of devices, however clicking on it will simply cause the wheel to spin and never connect. It eventually times out with "That didn't work: Try again and making sure your device is still discoverable". However retrying again simply repeats the process. I've ensured all wireless and display drivers are up to date. I reinstalled them again for good measure. The "User experience" module is installed, as is the wireless lan service.

I'm at breaking point with this, nothing i try has worked, any help would be greatly appreciated.

*edit* to add, i also disabled the firewall as a test, this didn't help.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Why are you doing this with the server and not a workstation? Seems like a bad idea to have the server unlocked and casting a screen.
 

DaveTime

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2018
Messages
3
Hi triple6. The server is not open to the internet. The application to be cast to the screen is run from the server itself and is not possible to send to a workstation.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Why does it need to be cast at all? Is it for a presentation? Or continuous? None of the workstations have the CRM client? Can you RDP to the server for this task?
 

DaveTime

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 11, 2018
Messages
3
It's continuous. As to why it needs to be done, it's because i've been asked to do it. I don't think it's the best way to do it myself but that's neither here nor there. Do you have any idea how i might be able to fix the issue itself? Also, i can RDP into the server however i need to get it to a standalone screen with a miracast adapter plugged into it. Clicking the connect button on the device screen in windows server results in the icon spinning before taking 3-5 minutes to time out.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
No idea, I've never tired of using Miracast on a server.

Sometimes as an IT tech you have to tell superiors that certain things are bad ideas.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top