1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Miracle Piano problem. Tough one. Help!!!

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by bsharke, Dec 1, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bsharke

    bsharke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    7
    I have a Miracle Piano System, (keyboard, cables, software, etc. that I purchased quite some time ago. I recently tried to install it on my Compaq Presario 1230 laptop. I hooked it up properly with the cable running from my keyboard to the serial port. Installed the software, everything went well. It gave me a selection for installing the right driver for my serial port hookup and restarted. Opened the program and the program comes on, and you should hear musical as it is opening and then proceed to the lessons. I can get everything but the sound. I can work my way through the lessons but I cannot get the interactive part of it to work. My sound is not muted. I get my startup chime. I am able to play my music files OK but nothing with this program. Have tried reinstalling about 8 times but still no luck. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. The program is no longer supported by any companies. The last being JumpMusic and before that Mindscape.

    Thanks

    Bill Sharkey
     
  2. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
  3. bsharke

    bsharke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    7
    Hi Savvy and Brian......thanks for the replies. I had been on the umc website before but this time I went through the same suggestion on no sound. I tried all the different midi output options in my Multimedia/MIDI control panel but still no sound. I'm about to toss the towel in. The irony is I have Miracle software for a Mac I have also and the problem there is, I get the sound but no program screen. Oh well!! Thanks anyway.

    Bill
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Hiya

    Sorry for jumping in, but what is your sound card?

    eddie
     
  5. bsharke

    bsharke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    7
    Hi Eddie......it is XpressAudio(TM) 16-bit sound card.

    Bill
     
  6. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Hiya

    16 bit is correct. Now, can you confirm a few things?

    You say you have no sound. Is this just the interactive bits, or is this the whole thing? What I mean is, can you get your mp3's or whatever you produce, to have sound?

    If so, it may just be something easy, but knowing our luck :p

    Okay, go to Control panel | Sounds. On the Sounds tab, look for your program using the scroll bar. Are there any speaker icons on any of the instructions? If not, lets add some. Click on one of the instructions, say Start. Then, under Name, scroll down to a sound .wav. Click on it, have a listen, then apply it.
    If they are there already, they may be corrupt, In this case, do the same, but replace with another .wav file.

    Apply and lets pray :p

    Regards

    eddie
     
  7. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
  8. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    Manufacturer:
    Compaq

    Device Type:
    Sound Cards

    Model:
    Presario 12xx/2xxx

    File Name:
    sp7341.exe

    Size:
    833940 bytes

    OS:
    Windows 95

    Comments:
    [DRIVER VERSION=5.05 Rev A] Compaq Presario models with a Cyrix XpressAUDIO driver, including Presario 1215, 1220, 2100, 2110, 2120, 2200, 2210, 2220, 2230 NOTE To help you determine if a Presario model not mentioned above has the audio driver affected by this SoftPaq Select Start, Settings, Control Panel, System, then click the Device Manager tab and double-click the Sound, Video icon. This SoftPaq affects your model if you see an entry similar to XpressAUDIO 16-bit Sound or Cyrix XpressAUDIO.

    http://www.driverguide.com/archives/archive5/758.html
     
  9. bsharke

    bsharke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    7
    Hi Eddie........yes I do have sound. I have my startup, able to listen to my mp3's but I do not have the interactive sound that is an integral part of this program. The Miracle Keyboard that I am using has a built-in midi. I think the problem might be my understanding of what the manual says here. "If you own a Miracle Keyboard and connect it through the serial port you have to set your MIDI IN and MIDI OUT ports to VAPI MIDI drivers" I have been going to Control Panels/multimedia/midi/ and there I am presented with External Midi Port, VAPI MIDI OUTPUT, there are 3 of the latter. Percussion on 16 and Xpress AUJDIO(TM) FM Syntheizer. There is also a selection for adding a new instrument which I did and named it External Midi Instrument also. I have selected and applied each one of them, one at a time and checked for sound but no success. I am probably doing something wrong there. What do you think? ( Savvy.....I didn't want to download anything as yet until I tried these first.

    Bill
     
  10. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Okay

    I'll have a dig about for what you have mentioned there, but have you tried the suggestion I gave? It could be a corrupt .wav file, and if thats the case, a simple replacement may work.

    eddie
     
  11. clootie

    clootie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2001
    Messages:
    7
    thanks for the reply eddie 5659--video is nvidia riva tnt--color setting is 16 bit 640x480.I can't get it to accept any other setting--tried 256 colors at different settings and they won't hold--always comes back to 16(which really looks much better in the little color bar setting block(restarted after each change attempt)
     
  12. bsharke

    bsharke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    7
    Hi Eddie......went to my sounds file in the control panel and my Miracle software in not listed. Went to the start and email and a few others and they show no .wav file in the "Name" drop-down menu. They do show the different sounds that can then be previewed and their sound is working. I am running Windows 98 plus in case I didn't mention it before and if that might have some bearing.

    Bill
     
  13. bsharke

    bsharke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    7
    Hi Savvy......I also downloaded the latest driver for my sound card but it did not help with the Miracle program.

    Thanks

    Bill
     
  14. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Hiya

    clootie: It is easier if you reply to your original thread. It makes it easier for replying. I'll have a look for drivers, but were there any yellow !

    bsharke: Using Win98 is okay. I used to use it, and still will when I get my other PC working soon.
    Now, you said that for email, etc, there was no sound. What I was trying to suggest was to try one of the wav files on your progr..., ah, you said its not listed. What am I doing? :p

    Bear with me

    eddie
     
  15. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,048
    Hiya

    Been having a think about this.

    Now, I've quoted the above so that I could work with it. :p

    It says to connect the MIDI OUT to your VAPI MIDI drivers. Is the MIDI OUT being connected to the VAPI MIDI OUTPUT? You say you have 3 of them, that's what I'm trying to get around. Have you tried all three OUTPUT's?
    What's Percussion on 16 and Xpress AUJDIO(TM) FM Syntheizer listed for? Are these other ports in the same place? Where is your MIDI IN connected to?
    I don't know about the new instrument bit

    eddie
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60314

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice