Miracle Piano problem. Tough one. Help!!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bsharke

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
7
I have a Miracle Piano System, (keyboard, cables, software, etc. that I purchased quite some time ago. I recently tried to install it on my Compaq Presario 1230 laptop. I hooked it up properly with the cable running from my keyboard to the serial port. Installed the software, everything went well. It gave me a selection for installing the right driver for my serial port hookup and restarted. Opened the program and the program comes on, and you should hear musical as it is opening and then proceed to the lessons. I can get everything but the sound. I can work my way through the lessons but I cannot get the interactive part of it to work. My sound is not muted. I get my startup chime. I am able to play my music files OK but nothing with this program. Have tried reinstalling about 8 times but still no luck. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. The program is no longer supported by any companies. The last being JumpMusic and before that Mindscape.

Thanks

Bill Sharkey
 

bsharke

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
7
Hi Savvy and Brian......thanks for the replies. I had been on the umc website before but this time I went through the same suggestion on no sound. I tried all the different midi output options in my Multimedia/MIDI control panel but still no sound. I'm about to toss the towel in. The irony is I have Miracle software for a Mac I have also and the problem there is, I get the sound but no program screen. Oh well!! Thanks anyway.

Bill
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

Sorry for jumping in, but what is your sound card?

eddie
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

16 bit is correct. Now, can you confirm a few things?

You say you have no sound. Is this just the interactive bits, or is this the whole thing? What I mean is, can you get your mp3's or whatever you produce, to have sound?

If so, it may just be something easy, but knowing our luck :p

Okay, go to Control panel | Sounds. On the Sounds tab, look for your program using the scroll bar. Are there any speaker icons on any of the instructions? If not, lets add some. Click on one of the instructions, say Start. Then, under Name, scroll down to a sound .wav. Click on it, have a listen, then apply it.
If they are there already, they may be corrupt, In this case, do the same, but replace with another .wav file.

Apply and lets pray :p

Regards

eddie
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
Manufacturer:
Compaq

Device Type:
Sound Cards

Model:
Presario 12xx/2xxx

File Name:
sp7341.exe

Size:
833940 bytes

OS:
Windows 95

Comments:
[DRIVER VERSION=5.05 Rev A] Compaq Presario models with a Cyrix XpressAUDIO driver, including Presario 1215, 1220, 2100, 2110, 2120, 2200, 2210, 2220, 2230 NOTE To help you determine if a Presario model not mentioned above has the audio driver affected by this SoftPaq Select Start, Settings, Control Panel, System, then click the Device Manager tab and double-click the Sound, Video icon. This SoftPaq affects your model if you see an entry similar to XpressAUDIO 16-bit Sound or Cyrix XpressAUDIO.

http://www.driverguide.com/archives/archive5/758.html
 

bsharke

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
7
Hi Eddie........yes I do have sound. I have my startup, able to listen to my mp3's but I do not have the interactive sound that is an integral part of this program. The Miracle Keyboard that I am using has a built-in midi. I think the problem might be my understanding of what the manual says here. "If you own a Miracle Keyboard and connect it through the serial port you have to set your MIDI IN and MIDI OUT ports to VAPI MIDI drivers" I have been going to Control Panels/multimedia/midi/ and there I am presented with External Midi Port, VAPI MIDI OUTPUT, there are 3 of the latter. Percussion on 16 and Xpress AUJDIO(TM) FM Syntheizer. There is also a selection for adding a new instrument which I did and named it External Midi Instrument also. I have selected and applied each one of them, one at a time and checked for sound but no success. I am probably doing something wrong there. What do you think? ( Savvy.....I didn't want to download anything as yet until I tried these first.

Bill
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Okay

I'll have a dig about for what you have mentioned there, but have you tried the suggestion I gave? It could be a corrupt .wav file, and if thats the case, a simple replacement may work.

eddie
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2001
Messages
7
thanks for the reply eddie 5659--video is nvidia riva tnt--color setting is 16 bit 640x480.I can't get it to accept any other setting--tried 256 colors at different settings and they won't hold--always comes back to 16(which really looks much better in the little color bar setting block(restarted after each change attempt)
 

bsharke

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
7
Hi Eddie......went to my sounds file in the control panel and my Miracle software in not listed. Went to the start and email and a few others and they show no .wav file in the "Name" drop-down menu. They do show the different sounds that can then be previewed and their sound is working. I am running Windows 98 plus in case I didn't mention it before and if that might have some bearing.

Bill
 

bsharke

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Messages
7
Hi Savvy......I also downloaded the latest driver for my sound card but it did not help with the Miracle program.

Thanks

Bill
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

clootie: It is easier if you reply to your original thread. It makes it easier for replying. I'll have a look for drivers, but were there any yellow !

bsharke: Using Win98 is okay. I used to use it, and still will when I get my other PC working soon.
Now, you said that for email, etc, there was no sound. What I was trying to suggest was to try one of the wav files on your progr..., ah, you said its not listed. What am I doing? :p

Bear with me

eddie
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

Been having a think about this.

If you own a Miracle Keyboard and connect it through the serial port you have to set your MIDI IN and MIDI OUT ports to VAPI MIDI drivers" I have been going to Control Panels/multimedia/midi/ and there I am presented with External Midi Port, VAPI MIDI OUTPUT, there are 3 of the latter. Percussion on 16 and Xpress AUJDIO(TM) FM Syntheizer. There is also a selection for adding a new instrument which I did and named it External Midi Instrument also.
Now, I've quoted the above so that I could work with it. :p

It says to connect the MIDI OUT to your VAPI MIDI drivers. Is the MIDI OUT being connected to the VAPI MIDI OUTPUT? You say you have 3 of them, that's what I'm trying to get around. Have you tried all three OUTPUT's?
What's Percussion on 16 and Xpress AUJDIO(TM) FM Syntheizer listed for? Are these other ports in the same place? Where is your MIDI IN connected to?
I don't know about the new instrument bit

eddie
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top