Miscrosoft Service Pack 2

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

FF_Maniac

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 27, 2004
Messages
104
Okay, I'm wonerding if i should install this. Right before I click install it gives me a warning to back-up the system. Do I really have to backup my system and should I?
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2004
Messages
18
Back up is always a good idea anyway. But you'll be able to do the switch-over without it. If you're not sure, back up first on disk. Do the update without backing anything up... this way you have everything at least.
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
You should get third party software to do this. I have used a lot of different ones and the one I like the best is by a company called Acronis, and the product is called TrueImage 8.0. You can find it by clicking HERE. You can even download a trial version ;)
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
...which brings up another good point. TrueImage will give you the option to compress and save everything on your hard drive, as long as it's not saved on the C: partition. However backing up on a CD or DVD is always best if you can ;)
 

FF_Maniac

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 27, 2004
Messages
104
Yeah, I kind of want to back it up on a cd...how many cd would it take =\
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2004
Messages
18
Wet Chicken's response was precise on the back up of your entire system. I guess if the question is: To back up your entire pc or just the files you need? You can always reinstall XP from the disk if it crashes. Save all your needed files on DVD, CD or external HD. Do the update, see what happens. Probably nothing if all goes well. If you're concerned with cloning your entire system then go with Acronis.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2004
Messages
18
Depends on how much you want to back up. If it's a CDR, then it might take 1-10... who knows??
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2001
Messages
2,382
Depends on your partition size.

Most backup programs will let you know how many disks approximately it will take to perform as they prepare the backup.
A fair rule is 2:1 compression, You should have around 5-10 disks though depending again on what and the size.
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
Actually Acronis TrueImage will back up as much, or as little, as you want. You can even update it file by file if you want. I don't think you'll have any problems with service pack two, but it's always a good and a safe idea, to get into the habit of backing up your data for that rainy day (which WILL eventually hit you) ;)
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2002
Messages
66
SP2 is just asking for trouble.... read the threads around here about it. also my friend is a system admin he has banned anyone from installing SP2 on his company network cause it causes so many problems
 

FF_Maniac

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 27, 2004
Messages
104
Alright, what are the common problems of installing the service pack2? I just backed up my system and installed it and everything seems to be working fine. What are some usualy symptoms of something going wrong?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top