1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

misreads size of harddrive

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by debbiesg, Aug 9, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. debbiesg

    debbiesg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    352
    I have a 200 GB backup internal harddrive. Only 160 is showing. How can I get it to see all 200?
    Windows 2000
    200GB drive is a WesternDigital
    AMD Athlon 1GH Processor
    My computer is a 4yr old Gateway.
    I don't know what else you might want to know.
    Thanks for any help you can give me.
    Debbie
     
  2. neospwn

    neospwn

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    when u installed windows did u format the hd in fat32? i pretty sure fat32 wont recognize anything bigger than 160 gb
     
  3. debbiesg

    debbiesg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    352
  4. Moby

    Moby

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,709
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    What does Disk Management say about the drive?
     
  6. chewyleopard

    chewyleopard

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    If your OS IS WIN XP and you have Service pack 1a installed get Partition Magic 8.0 and run it will allow you to allowcate the free space to the original ie 40gb to the 160gb giving you the full 200gb Ihad to do this when I bought my 200gb Maxtor
     
  7. scmazter

    scmazter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    557
    WTF r u all on about.
    If itz called a 200GB harddrive, itz OBVIOUS much less, just a marketing trick.
    160GB is a lot more less then 200GB though, but still, mabye it's it's actual capacity.
     
  8. Moby

    Moby

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,709
    scmazter, nothing is "obvious" from your post, apart from maybe one thing . . . ;)
    The capacity of a 200gb hard drive would show up as 186gb in windows when you take into account how mb's are counted by
    a - vendors
    as opposed to
    b - windows
    That's probably the most you'll get out of it.
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Well, it's also obvious than any messages from him are incredibly hard to read! :)
     
  10. debbiesg

    debbiesg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    352
    I have windows 2000
     
  11. Bait

    Bait

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    well I have to go with SCmaster on this because Anything will read less than what it says it is because most places go by the rule that 1,000 MB = 1 GB which isnt true so it really is 200 GB (by the retailers standards) Like my 40 GB only reads at 37.29 GB. So yeah its just a marketing ploy and there is nothing wrong with your hard drive
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Bait, as pointed out, a 200gig drive is 186.26gig when you correct for the difference in manufacturer stated capacity vs real capacity. If she's seeing 160gig, it's not explained by the cryptic message you reference. Perhaps you should run the numbers before you blindly believe everything you read.
     
  13. JSanguancheu

    JSanguancheu

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,824
    Yep, she's missing about 26Gb..
     
  14. scmazter

    scmazter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    557
    Exactly my point guys, it isn't 200GB, itz less, but It cant be 160GB.
    Sorry for my confusing post :S

    Ok, well reading the post over again, I really have no idea.

    Did you buy the hard drive off EBay?

    Do you have the latest service packs for 2000?

    The only other thing, which it might be, since your computer is 4 years old, is BIOS, however untill hell freezes over nobody can justify for you to update your bios, because it's a good chance it's something else.
     
  15. JSanguancheu

    JSanguancheu

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,824
    Well, if it's reading 160Gb then the BIOS and OS already support 48bit LBA drives (ie. HDDs greater than 127Gb).

    Only thing I can think of is there is some unallocated space left over that wasn't partitioned with the rest of the drive.

    As was asked B4, what is Disk Management showing??
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/259986