1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Missing/Corrupt Files

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by VoodooDragon, Oct 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. VoodooDragon

VoodooDragon Thread Starter

Hello, I hope I'm posting this in the correct forum.

I have been using an external hard drive nexstar 3 for a couple of years now. Trouble is, I've noticed that quite a number of files (notepad, word etc.) and also many image files are missing or corrupt. I have defragmented hard drive as well as searched for errors.

It's not full to capacity, in fact it 125 GB of free space left, so I'm not quite sure what's going on. Is there anything I can do to get my files and images back? Images are there but when I attempt to open them the error in a pop up states:

1. could not complete your request because invalid SOS, DHT, DQT, OR EOI JPEG marker is found before a JPEG SOI marker

2. could not complete your request because an unknown or invalid JPEG marker type is found

Word docs/notepad files are also there but again when I go to open them the documents are full of weird text.

Not all files are corrupt, most I can view but I would say that at least 30% of the docs and images on the external HD are corrupt in some way. Can anyone suggest anything, or are they pretty much lost for good?

Thanks

p.s I'm not sure if I need to give more info on the hard drive??

2. PuppyLinux

PuppyLinux

Welcome to the TSG forums...