1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Missing Disk F: Important Documents Please help!

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by safah, Mar 24, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. safah

safah Thread Starter

Hi, I need help recovering my F drive. It just disappeared a couple days ago. It is over 150GB and has all my important files and pictures. I've restarted my computer several times and sometimes it shows up but I cannot access it. It gives me an error message about I/O. It will not show up in the disk management tool either. Also I keep getting messages to format my f drive but I don't want to lose any work..

I've been using this F drive for about 6 months since my Disk C ran out of space. Strange thing is I had 111GB on my Disk C that has been diminishing although I don't have any large downloads. I transferred ALL my docs and photos to F drive. Now C is still full although I only have Adobe (PS, IL) program files and Microsoft office type things installed. I need help getting my F drive back :( Please any tips?

I have Windows 7 home premium.

2. valis

valis Moderator

Howdy and welcome. Is the f drive an external hard drive or a partition on the internal one?

3. flavallee

flavallee Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Frank
    Is your computer (which you didn't describe) a desktop/tower or a laptop/notebook?
    Does it have 1 hard drive divided in C: and F: partitions or does it have 2 separate C: and F: hard drives?
    If it has 2 separate hard drives, are they both internal or is 1 of them external?

---------------------------------------------------------------

4. safah

safah Thread Starter