1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Missing dll after installing IE SP2

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Lyn Patterson, Nov 24, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Lyn Patterson

    Lyn Patterson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    281
    The first time I re-booted after installing the SP2 for IE, I got an error message:

    "An error occurred loading "C:\Windows\System\rsaenh.dll" - the file may not have been installed or it has been corrupted."

    It is definitely not on the computer. Do I download a copy or is it not necessary? The opening screen hangs for a bit longer than it used to, otherwise nothing else seems wrong - at the moment, anyway. It does not seem to be on my Windows 98 SE disk either as I tried to restore it from SFC.

    Thanks.

    Lyn
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,026
  3. buck52

    buck52 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    8,373
    Lyn

    No idea what it's for but I did a search on my 98SE and I have it.

    it says Application Extention- 99KB

    Someone else will have to tell you if you really need it or not

    buck
     
  4. Lyn Patterson

    Lyn Patterson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    281
    eddie5659

    Am I having fun or what? You were quite right - cipher stregth was '0' - I am sure it was 128 before I installed SP2 for ie5.5.

    Consulted your link - very complicated instructions so I just downloaded the missing dll's from 'dll world'. Immediately the cipher strength went up to 56 ! So far so good. Went back to your link instructions and downloaded the file 'ie501dom.exe' to the 'C:\windows update setup files' folder and ran it. Then downloaded the 128 encrytption for 5.1 as instructed.
    Now I am back to cipher stregth '0' which is very disappointing.

    Do you have any ideas? Should I scrub the lot and start again?

    Thanks

    Lyn
     
  5. Lyn Patterson

    Lyn Patterson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    281
    buck52 - thanks - I'm beginning to think it is a very necessary file !

    Lyn
     
  6. buck52

    buck52 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    8,373
    howdy

    I'm not the expert but it sounds to me like the SP2 install got corupted somehow. How about in add/remove programs restore the previous configuration then installing 5.5 SP2 from Here complete over to top of...

    buck
     
  7. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
  8. Lyn Patterson

    Lyn Patterson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    281
    Thanks TonyKlein - but it didn't work. Cipher strength is still '0'.

    Am going to try buck52's advice and see what happens.

    Lyn
     
  9. Lyn Patterson

    Lyn Patterson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    281
    buck52

    Thanks. Uninstalled ie 5.5 sp2 and am now reverted to ie 5.0.2614.

    Trying to install 5.5 sp2. Download goes fine but set-up balks.

    Have now tried at least 6 times and each time I get a message that set-up was unable to reach the download site and to make sure I was connected (!!!!!). Will keep trying and get back to this forum if this goes on for much longer.

    Lyn
     
  10. Lyn Patterson

    Lyn Patterson Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    281
    buck52
    eddie5659
    TonyKlein

    What an interesting day! Spent a lot of time searching the MS Knowledgebase and the pages you all recommended. Decided to rename those dll's to 'old' and downloaded 5.5sp1 instead of sp2. This one finally worked and I got it installed. sp2 just would not install. I am sure this is what I had on the computer before I downloaded sp2. Cipher strength is back to 128.

    I searched the computer for all the downloads of the ie setup files as apparently these can cause error messages if you are trying to download one and have the setup for the other, or something like that. I just left the one in Windows Update as instructed.

    Now that all is back to normal (I hope) when next I have some time, I shall try again to download and install sp2 - if it causes problems with the cipher strength again, I will just use GoBack.

    Thanks for all your advice.

    Lyn
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/59515

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice