1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Missing .DLL file

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by cananyonehelpme, Dec 3, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cananyonehelpme

    cananyonehelpme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    Help, I have a digital camera and my software no longer works due to a corrupt database (apparently). I have also found that for some reason I have a missing-required .dll file which is VSNETUTILS.DLL Could this be my problem and how do I solve it? I am a dummy with computers so please be gentle with terminology!
    I would really appreciate if someone would take the time to help me out, I'm gutted-I have only had the camera a week and was looking forward to taking lots of piccies of the kids at Christmas!
     
  2. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    It's a ZoneAlarm dll.

    If you're stil running ZA, reinstall the program.

    If not any more, check if the dll is still there in C:\Windows\System.
    If it is, remove it.
    Go to Start/Run, type Regedit.
    Go to Edit/find, and type vsnetutils

    If you find it, and it will probably be in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\SharedDLLs\\C:\Windows\System\\vsnetutils.dll, highlight it, and hit delete.

    Reboot

    Good luck,
     
  3. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    By the way: Hi, and welcome to the board... :D

    Greetz,
     
  4. cananyonehelpme

    cananyonehelpme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    Thankyou very much for the welcome, Tony and even more for the advice! I am running Zone Alarm, I will try to uninstall it and let you know how it went
     
  5. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Hi,

    Don't uninstall it like that, for you may have more problems afterwards.

    Do it like this:

    First, select 'Configure' from the main ZoneAlarm window, then deselect the 'Load ZoneAlarm at Startup' check box.
    Reboot. That way TrueVector and other ZA files will not be active during uninstall. If you don't do it this way, it's a recipe for trouble.

    Now Uninstall Zonealarm by using the Add/remove applet, or from Start menu/Programs/Zone Labs/Uninstall ZoneAlarm.

    Reboot. Subsequently verify that the following folders and files have been removed. If not, delete them:

    - Directories:

    1) Zone Labs from C:\Program Files
    2) zonelabs from C:\Windows\System
    3) Zone Labs from C:\Windows\Start Menu\Programs

    - Files:

    1) C:\Windows\System\vsdata.dll
    2) C:\Windows\System\vsdata95.vxd
    3) C:\Windows\System\vsmonapi.dll
    4) C:\Windows\System\vsnetutils.dll
    5) C:\Windows\System\vspubapi.dll
    6) C:\Windows\System\vsutil.dll
    7) C:\Windows\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\zapro
    8) C:\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\zapro
    9) C:\Windows\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\zonealarm
    10) C:\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\zonealarm
    11) All files in C:\Windows\Temp
    12) C:\Windows\Internet Logs.

    Reboot, and then download and reïnstall ZoneAlarm again.

    There's a new version out now, and it pays to remove the old version like this.


    Good luck,
     
  6. cananyonehelpme

    cananyonehelpme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    Guess what, I've already gone and uninstalled it!
    I was just about to attempt to re-install it.
    (and I deleted all the files including the ones it said may be needed by another program at some time)
    Now I'm really lost, and I'm not doing ANYTHING else unless you tell me too!!!!!
    Thanks X 1000000000000
    Linda
     
  7. cananyonehelpme

    cananyonehelpme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    and is there an easy way to verufy if they have been removed? I always go to SEARCH for files and go through the whole list
    Linda
     
  8. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Hi Linda,

    You're just too fast for me... :D

    Check whether any of the files mentioned in my last post are still there, and remove them.
    Just those, nothing else. Doublecheck.

    Then reboot, and subsequently download the latest version of ZA from the ZoneLabs site, and reinstall.
    If everything goes well the shared dll's will be put back by the new install.

    Post back to tell us how it went.

    Good luck,
     
  9. cananyonehelpme

    cananyonehelpme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks for all the help you are giving me!
    I have done most of that and am now following your advice religiously...I have found Zone Labs in C:\ Program Files when I used search for a file or folder (don't know if searching for a directory should be done differently) and I deleted that. I've got as far as All files in C:\Windows\Temp but there are LOADS! They all appear to be unrelated to Zone Labs but do I delete them all anyway? Can I highlight them all and just hit del? Just in case, I am using Wins ME and the search facility that pops up from the Start menu.
    Thank you thank you thank you,
    Linda !
     
  10. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Hi Linda,

    If you removed ZA the way I indicated you can remove all files on the list.

    It's good practice to delete all files in C:\Windows\Temp regularly anyway, for they're just junk, and can eventually slow you down or even end up by causing shutdown problems.

    Good luck,
     
  11. cananyonehelpme

    cananyonehelpme Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    9
    I will delete those files later today and re-install ZA but the really good news is that this time when I unistalled and reinstalled my camera software IT IS CURED!!!!!!
    It obviously was due to the missing file that you guided me through, I can't thank you enough,
    from Linda :eek:)
     
  12. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    No problem! :)

    Glad you got it cornered!

    Cheers,
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60566

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice