1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Missing HD partition

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by firefly260, Jan 24, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. firefly260

    firefly260 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    71
    Hi Guys,

    I have recently bought a Maxtor DiamondMax Plus9 60Gb UDMA 133 drive, the problem I have is that after partitioning the drive (50%,25%,25%) and making the larger partition active, formating all three partitions, then setting the drive to slave to my other drive, only the 50% and one 25% partition show in Windows 98 Explorer (and I suspect in the wrong order). Tried to repartition using bootdisk and Fdisk after resetting to master and disconnecting other drive, but after being asked if I want LBA support and pressing Y, there is an error reading fixed disk.
    Also when booted to new drive, can acces C: and D: only.
    Anyone any clues as to what is happening?

    Cheers
    Keith
     
  2. hw45

    hw45

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    After partitioning did you format all 3 partitions?
     
  3. firefly260

    firefly260 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    71
    Hi hw45,

    yes did format all partitions.

    Cheers
    Keith
     
  4. hw45

    hw45

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    I would Low Level Format the drive and try from beginning. Also run the Diagnostic Tool - download from Maxtor's Support Page.
     
  5. firefly260

    firefly260 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    71
    Hi again hw45,

    Have just retried to Fdisk to no avail, still coming up with error reading fixed disk, although I can access c: and d: still though.
    Tried also to reformat e: but drive not showing up.

    Will look at Maxtor site for Diag tool thanks.

    Cheers
    Keith
     
  6. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    Howdy there firefly260...

    Just a question...

    Is Win 98 installed and booting to the other drive which is set to Master, or the new drive ?

    If so, you can't have 2 active partitions to boot from, try disabeling the active partition on the slave drive...
     
  7. firefly260

    firefly260 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    71
    Hi Jedi_Master,

    Thanks for that, Win98 is loaded onto the old drive that is set to master, the new drive is set to slave, and the machine boots from drive 0 (the old drive). Even with just the new drive installed, the new drive will only show 2 partitions.

    Have now low level formatted the new drive, will try fdisk again later and post back.
     
  8. firefly260

    firefly260 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    71
    Hi Guys, sorry for delay in reposting,

    The situation now is that I have downloaded MaxBlast Plus II and Power Max, have low level partioned the drive a total of three times at different times, with none of the diag tools showing any problems. Have tried using MaxBlast II but am unable to view the instructions as the screen shimmers so badly that I am unable to read at all. So back to Fdisk, have partioned the drive into 3, Primary Dos, Extended Dos divided into two logical drives, made the Primary Dos active, viewed the partions and verified that three dives exist.
    Rebooted, then formated C: & D: , tried to fromat E, but getting invalid drive spec error, (is this because from the bootdisk MS ramdrive boots into E:)
    Tried system disk with Command.com, fdisk & format only on so ramdrive does not load, with the same result.
    Have then tried to re Fdisk, only to get an Error reading fixed disk message.
    I am no further forward, anyone any more ideas?

    Thanks again
    Keith
     
  9. Hairy

    Hairy

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Messages:
    574
    what is the overall plan with this new drive?
    are you planning on installing an operating system on it, or just using it for more storage space?

    as was already mentioned, only one partition can be set active.

    if you want the drive letters in order, don't make a primary partition at all, just extended / logical
     
  10. DVOM

    DVOM

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,716
    Try wipeout to clean the disk. It's down at the bottom of the page.

    Unhook your good drive first as wipeout will take out ALL partitions found.
     
  11. firefly260

    firefly260 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    71
    Hi Hairy & DVOM,

    Thanks for your responses, I plan to use the new drive as master with Win98 on, transfer all data on the old drive then repartition and reinstall the old drive as slave.

    Have downloaded wipeout, will give it a try.

    Thanks
    Keith
     
  12. firefly260

    firefly260 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    71
    Have just had a disaster, when trying to fdisk new disk again, after pulling power lead from original drive, suspect power lead shorted and blew main supply lead fuse. Since then new drive is not recognised or shown by BIOS and does not appear to spin up at all. Have I blown it? does anyone think it is recoverable?

    Any answers please.
    Thanks
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Missing partition
  1. strax
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    169
  2. Totores
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    72
  3. pmetuk
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    275
  4. Sheed22
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    138
  5. Sviwe
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    270
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/115132

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice