missing himem.sys, dblbuff.sys, ifshlp.sys, and windows directory

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

JChan

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 18, 2005
Messages
9
Greetings,
All was well - then had a crash. On reboot - started getting the following:

"warning: windows has detected a registry/configuration error. Choose command prompt only, and run SCANREG."

--> Unable to run scanreg.

(step by step boot process)
all ok until process following files/->

Device=C\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS/TESTMEM:OFF
receive -> The following file is missing or corrupted: C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS
There is an error in you Config.sys file on line 6

Device=C\WINDOWS\EMM386.EXE NOEMS
receive -> The following file is missing or corrupted: C:\WINDOWS\EMM386.EXE
There is an error in you Config.sys file on line 7

Device=C\WINDOWS\DBLBUFF.SYS
receive -> The following file is missing or corrupted: C:\WINDOWS\DBLBUFF.SYS

Device=C\WINDOWS\IFSHL.SYS
receive -> The following file is missing or corrupted: C:\WINDOWS\IFSHLP.SYS

and lastly -> "Warning: the high memory area (HMA) is not available. Additional low memory (below 640K0 will be used instead."


I have used McAfee rescue disk, and windows start up disk and tried to copy/restore everything I could - no help. During this process - noticed I don't have a "windows" directory on the C: drive. It has been a while since I worked on 98 - but I would think this is a big problem. Don't know how I got here - have Spybot and latest McAfee virus running. I was trying to print from the US postal service website, and had just updated AcroReader 6.0 when it crashed. Suspect I will need to reload 98 on top but thought I would check for any words of wisdom first. Thanx!!
:(
 

JSntgRvr

José
Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
18,552
See if you are able to boot in MSDOS. Tap on F8 during startup to reach the Menu. Select Command Prompt. At the prompt type the following and press Enter:

Scanreg /Fix

Upon completion, restart the computer.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
I think you may need a new msdos.sys file, see post 19 in this thread:

http://forums.techguy.org:80/showthread.php?p=2422366

But you may also have a seriously damaged hard drive.

You might try running from a command prompt:

dir c: /s /p /og

and see if "Windows" is there and if the "command" folder is as well.

Also, I can't remember, but I think scanreg /fix requires himem to run.
 

JSntgRvr

José
Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
18,552
Does the Windows folder exists?

Dir /A:SH /W

Dir Windows*.*
 

JChan

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 18, 2005
Messages
9
OK - just a quick question - should I be able to see the windows directory by using dir command from the dos prompt??? I see other directories but not a "windows" directory.
 

JSntgRvr

José
Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
18,552
Try this command:

Dir C:\Scanregw.exe /s

Let us know if this file is found and where?
 

JSntgRvr

José
Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
18,552
JChan said:
OK - just a quick question - should I be able to see the windows directory by using dir command from the dos prompt??? I see other directories but not a "windows" directory.
The command above will let us know if the directory exists, even if it has been renamed.
 

JChan

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 18, 2005
Messages
9
I do find a windows file - 33,191 bytes with dir windows*.*

ran c:\scanregw.exe/s

says file not found
 

JSntgRvr

José
Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
18,552
JChan said:
I do find a windows file - 33,191 bytes with dir windows*.*

ran c:\scanregw.exe/s

says file not found
No. Bad sintax. You are searching for the file. The command is:

Dir C:\Scanregw.exe /s
 

JSntgRvr

José
Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
18,552
I do find a windows file - 33,191 bytes with dir windows*.*
How does it appears? Does it has an extension such as Windows.000, or Windows .001?
 

JChan

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 18, 2005
Messages
9
no extension - appears as . . .

WINDOWS 33191 04-23-99 10:22P
1 FILE(S) 33,191 bytes
0 dir(s) 5,915.77 MB free
 

JSntgRvr

José
Retired Moderator and Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 1, 2003
Messages
18,552
One last check. Try moving to Windows:

cd C:\Windows
Dir System*.*
 

JChan

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 18, 2005
Messages
9
unable - get "invalid directory"

I also have tried to make a directory (md windows) and get "unable to create directory"

I can however create directories with other names.

I am guessing that we are about out of options???
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top