1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

missing new folder option in context menu

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by mikalejolee, Aug 10, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mikalejolee

    mikalejolee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    I have tried everything suggested to do to try and restore my new folder option in my context menus and nothing has worked. Even when I try to use the folderfix.reg option all it does it open the code in my note pad. I have tried running the code in my cmd prompt but it does not work. Can someone tell me what I may be overlooking? I'm only at beginners level, so please bare with me.
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,075
    First Name:
    David
    What is the full path that you are trying to make this new folder?

    Remember that some path locations are protected and a new folder can not be made.
     
  3. Mark1956

    Mark1956

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14,142
  4. tech-win

    tech-win

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    203
    Not sure where you got the REG file from. But to merge the REG file, you can right-click on it and choose "Merge". Alternately, open Regedit.exe and choose the Import... option from the File Menu and then point to the REG file.
     
  5. Markala

    Markala

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    I never use the new folder option on my context menu because it's easier and quicker to hold down the Alt key with one hand and type FWF with the other hand. Hope this helps you.
     
  6. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,075
    First Name:
    David
    mikalejolee,
    On my Windows 7 machines, it is listed under the "New" entry.
    Are you saying on a "Right Click" the 'New' does not appear near the bottom of the list?
     
  7. Markala

    Markala

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks for writing back, and no I'm not addressing the right click context menu because I don't use it for new folders. What I'm saying is I hold down the Alt key and type FWF which gets me a new folder. I think it's faster than using the right click menu. Hope this helps.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1105758

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice