1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Missing or corrupt: \WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG\SYSTEM

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by chopz, Jan 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. chopz

    chopz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    I was burning a backup CD and when it was done my comp just froze.

    When I rebooted it, I got the message:
    So then I decided to make boot disks but as I inserted the 4th disk in, I got the message:
    Can someone please help me with this?
    Help much appreciated as always.
     
  2. awalker0878

    awalker0878 Removed by request

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    407
    unplug all your usb devices then try booting into windows
     
  3. chopz

    chopz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    I unplugged all my usb devices, but got the same message when I rebooted on the 4th disk.
     
  4. awalker0878

    awalker0878 Removed by request

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    407
    did you just install Windows 2000?
     
  5. chopz

    chopz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Nah I'm on XP and have been for a while...
     
  6. chopz

    chopz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    28
  7. awalker0878

    awalker0878 Removed by request

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    407
    try http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;q307545 these instructions:
    copy regcopy1.txt to a blank floppy

    insert your xp setup cd (or windows 2000)
    press any key (if this does not come up modify boot order so cdrom is first)
    On first screen (welcome screen) hit r
    logon installation
    insert floppy into drive
    type:"batch A:\regcopy1.txt"
    type "exit"
     

    Attached Files:

  8. awalker0878

    awalker0878 Removed by request

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    407
    sorry, you posted faster than me. I suggest you try making your floppy set from different floppies I am willing to bet that error is because of a bad floppy disk. Also after the floppy wizard is finished copy the txt file to disk 4 and then in recovery console execute "batch A:\regcopy1.txt'
     
  9. chopz

    chopz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Alright thanks mate for the help so far, I'll try with different floppies and get back to you when I'm done.
     
  10. chopz

    chopz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    You were right mate, my 4th disk was stuffed up.

    So do I continue with the regcopy1.txt you uploaded? If not, what do I do next?
     
  11. chopz

    chopz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    In the recovery session it says:
    1. C:\WINDOWS

    Which Windows installation would you like to log onto?
    (to cancel, press ENTER)?
     
  12. chopz

    chopz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    I followed all the instructions on: http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;307545

    After part 2 I could actually access Windows but after completing the rest of the instructions now it firstly goes to screen where I can choose: safe mode, last known good configuration, normally etc... and I've tried all of them and when it gets to the XP loading screen it just restarts automatically.

    Any suggestions please?
     
  13. awalker0878

    awalker0878 Removed by request

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    407
    I suggest you go back into recovery console and type:
    "chkdsk C: /r"
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Missing corrupt WINDOWSSYSTEM32CONFIGSYSTEM
  1. Robertico22
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    517
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/435928

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice