Missing Program Shortcuts

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Gilbert09

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2011
Messages
4
Hello, after several days of cleaning up a clients laptop of around 150 viruses, i think it's now clean. But as always, viruses have effects after they have been removed, and in this case its that it has removed all the links to programs in the all programs list.

All the folders are there, but no links inside them. I have been googling this for multiple hours and the only thing i have found is to restore them using a folder called 'smtmp', well this laptop doesn't have a folder by that name anywhere on the laptop. Also i have ran Unhide.exe.

Does anyone know a way of getting all the links back?

- Cheers
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
It sounds like a new installation of Windows. All the programs will need to be reinstalled. Even if they are still in Program Files, they are not installed and most of most program's components are not located in their program's folder, anyway.

Check Add/Remove, but the programs are probably not there.
 

Gilbert09

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2011
Messages
4
Well all the programs are in the add/remove, just the links missing. Will i have to create them manually?
 

LagunaGTO

Account Closed
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
139
Try going to Start and then Run, type: regedit and press enter.

Navigate to HKey_Current_User\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Current Version\Explorer\Menu Order\StartMenu - Delete it.
Navigate to HKey_Current_User\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Current Version\Explorer\Menu Order\StartMenu2 - Delete it.

Restart and see if All Programs is rebuilt.
 

Gilbert09

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 30, 2011
Messages
4
Cheers for the reply, but I'm afraid those aren't there. Are you sure they are the correct names?
 

LagunaGTO

Account Closed
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
139
It appears that is XP, I apologize. I will need to do some more searching and see what I can find.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top