1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Missing registry information popup

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Reboot Camper, Jun 8, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Reboot Camper

Reboot Camper Thread Starter

Hi!

If anyone is passing and enjoys Windows 7 problem alerts could you give some idea what to do?
    I am a teacher and often download simple Word documents from a sharing site I am a member of.
    However, recently when I try to go through download I get the message:

"Required registry information is missing and this application cannot run. Please rerun setup to correct this problem"

How do I rerun setup? Setup of what?

2. kenbok51

kenbok51

When you say "I try to go through download" do you mean the download fails to run? If so what are you using to download the files? The browser, a download application? Could you walk us through the steps you take, the applications your using and the point of failure as close as you can get.

3. plodr

plodr

First Name:
    Liz
    What is the extension on these "Word" documents? If you try and open something and you don't have a program installed to view it, you might get something similar to
    It sounds more like you are downloading an exe type of file and not a doc or docx file.

4. Reboot Camper

The documents are normal PowerPoints and Worksheets for class use.
    First I click on the tab saying "Download this worksheet"
    A second tab opens saying download is in progress. It opens but there is an X Error window saying,
    "Required registry information is missing and this application cannot run. Please rerun setup to correct this problem"

5. plodr

plodr

First Name:
    Liz
    What version of Office is installed on your computer?

6. Reboot Camper