1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

missing root directory

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by zeke, Apr 29, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. zeke

    zeke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    I have a window desktop with xp sp3 that cannot boot because the root directory is missing. I have a laptop with windows 7 ultimate and would like to run a bootdisk to boot my desktop. My question is how do I "make" the bootdisk on my window 7 to boot my xp? I want to use a thumb drive to boot the xp desktop.


    btw, I already downloaded the ActiveLiveCD and BootDiskDemo-Setup from cnet and elsewhere.

    Thanks
     
  2. CleaverX

    CleaverX

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,323
    The boot disk you can create in Windows 7 will do you no good for your XP desktop. It only has some basic troubleshooting tools and a way to restore your Windows 7 installation from a native backup.
    You must repair your XP installation by using the origina XP installation disk; run the installer but choose to repair instead of reinstalling.
    Also if you don't have a current backup of your data, you will need to get that done first. If you need to download a rescue disk from the internet, connect an eternal usb drive, boot the machine from the rescue disk and choose any available tools to backup your data.
     
  3. zeke

    zeke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    aren't the files on the file I downloaded to boot the xp?
     
  4. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,588
    what do you mean? Windows 7 is a completely different animal from XP, and you cannot use a W7 boot disk to repair XP.
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,696
    First Name:
    Frank
    If that's a factory-brand desktop and not a custom/home-made desktop, advise what brand name and model name and model number it is.

    ------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. zeke

    zeke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    It's a Dell Optiplex 755 with window xp sp 3. I tried booting using the cd but was unsuccessful.
     
  7. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,588
    Which cd? XP or 7?
     
  8. zeke

    zeke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    My desktop (Dell Optiplex 755) is the computer that is missing the root directory and has winndows xp with sp 3 on it. The computer I am communicating with you here is a windows 7 Ultimate.

    The cd I have is for the desktop (xp) that I am not able to boot the machine with.
     
  9. TonyB25

    TonyB25 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    2,540
    Why not just copy your data off the drive and reinstall Windows XP if that's what you want to run?
     
  10. zeke

    zeke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    TonyB25,

    I want to restore the boot directory on my desktop that has xp on it.

    So my question is this: How can I restore the root directory on my desktop that has xp on it?
     
  11. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,588
    what is the error you are getting when you try to boot from the xp cd?
     
  12. TonyB25

    TonyB25 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    2,540
    Yes, I know that's what you want to do. Question is why? Copy the data off and reinstall. You'd be done by now.
     
  13. zeke

    zeke Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    I am asking for help with this issue, not joke around.

    I can't get the thing to boot up how am I suppose to copy anything and to what? The other issue is re-installing is not something I want to do because I will loose my data. I don't want to loose my data.
     
  14. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,786
    The Bios needs to be set to boot [Start] from the Cd/DVD.
    In the Bios you use the arrow keys to move the Cd to the top of the list.
    Then Save setting and Exit the Bios - pressing F10 will usually do this.
    Make no other changes while in the Bios
    http://michaelstevenstech.com/bios_manufacturer.htm
    ======
    How to use Linux live Cd to backup files from a dead Pc
    ======
    Try a Repair install - however you will need to back up all data and files first
    A Repair install does not always work and may leave you with a system that does not boot up.

    Insert the XP cd in the CD ROM Drive then switch on the computer.

    You will receive the following message:
    This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft Windows XP to run on your computer:

    To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.
    To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console, press R.
    To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3.
    ----------------------------------------------------------
    DO NOT at this point select R.... DO NOT SELECT R

    Select ENTER
    ----------------
    On the Windows XP Licensing Agreement screen
    Press F8 to agree to the license agreement

    Select current installation of Windows XP.and then

    Press R to repair Windows XP.
    -----------------------------------
    Follow the instructions that appear on the screen to repair Windows.
    ======
    After you repair Windows, you may have to reactivate your copy of Windows XP
    And install all Windows updates.
    A repair install should leave all of your programs and data in place.

    Read all info and warnings - as a Repair Install does not always work.
    http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm
     
  15. TonyB25

    TonyB25 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 1969
    Messages:
    2,540
    You take the hard drive out, connect it to another computer, and copy the data. You don't need to boot the drive to get the data off unless you encrypted it.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - missing root directory
  1. iono
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    75
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1147473

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice