1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

missing start up files????

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by justjesse2, Feb 11, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. justjesse2

    justjesse2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    161
    hello again
    i had been here before. a brand new computer, win xp home installed
    tried to install windows xp pro
    was missing a boot up file
    searched the hard drive and the cd and no luck
    i reported this issue to microsoft almost two months ago
    my supposed tech support for my new machine hasnt been helpful at all
    does anybody here know how i ca get this file that i think i need???

    1.
    The following boot-start or system-start driver(s) failed to load: viaagp
    2.
    The COM+ Event System detected a bad return code during its internal processing. HRESULT was 8007043C from line 44 of d:\nt\com\com1x\src\events\tie r1\eventsystemobj.cpp. Please contact Microsoft Product Support Services to report this error

    please help me if you can, thanks
    just jesse2
     
  2. Mollie

    Mollie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    308
    When do these error messages appear? While you're installing XP or after the installation is complete? If they appear while you're installing, have you tried just cancelling the dialog box that pops up looking for the file instead of trying to locate it? I seem to recall an error message about a similar file when I was installing XP, and skipping that file didn't affect the installation at all.

    Also, viaagp (via.agp? viaagp.sys?) is not a Windows file per se, it's a file for graphics hardware and/or motherboard chipsets manufactured by VIA.

    Mollie
    _ _ _
    "You know very well that I no longer think. I am far too intelligent for that."
     
  3. justjesse2

    justjesse2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    161
    hello mollie
    thanks for your reply. it was during the installation and i did try to allow it search for it by itself.
    and i have no idea how to search for it otherwise
    i thought that windows automatically searched for drivers thru the update
    i cannot get back into my system other than the safe mode at the moment
    i need to take some files off and then i was going to do the quick restore
    but if it didnt install properly the first time, will it the next?
    thanks
    justjesse2
     
  4. jogar

    jogar

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    10
  5. justjesse2

    justjesse2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    161
    well, now i have the drivers i was missing
    i was going to use the quick restore to the day i first hooked up
    it will restore windows
    it says there is a block, when i try to go back to manufacturer date
    they said it was the software but this has happened before with brand new software
    is there a possibility that thewre may have been something that they didnt load?
    this is an e-machine
    t2200
    any help would be appreciated
    thanks
    justjesse2
     
  6. jogar

    jogar

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Wait a sec... are you saying you can't use the Windows Restore CD to reinstall? If you start from scratch that should work fine. Are you trying to restore your *existing* Windows installation? Because that may not be possible. Just a couple weeks ago my config was so screwed up I had to reformat the hard drive and reinstall from scratch. Now it works like a champ.
     
  7. justjesse2

    justjesse2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    161
    hello jogar
    it only restores the windows to original state
    their technician said that they were sending me a new cd
    norton ghost has a block on it from the cd that they sent with the machine
    i was checkong to see if system was working correctly and bow it doesnt even show what is on my machine
    i mean software and hardware
    its almost as if something took over my whole machine
    thanks for replying
    if there is anything i can do to find out exactly what is happening, would you please let me know?
    thanks
    justjesse2
     
  8. jogar

    jogar

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Gosh, I hate the trend where you buy a machine with Windows on it, and you don't even get a real Windows CD! Just a "restore" CD. The CD the technician is sending you--is it Windows or Ghost?
     
  9. justjesse2

    justjesse2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    161
    the cd the tech is sending me has windows restore and a ghost on it
    the ghost seems to have a blcok on it
    i do have windows xp pro cd
    if and how would i go about a repair install?
    do you think this could correct the problem even if its temporary?

    at the moment it doesn not show anything
    the software, confilcts, connectivity anything but it is running
    i have never ever seen this happen before

    i have another pc and had it crash 20 times last year
    never had this happen
    and after i had a reputable tech reinstall it hasnt given me any problems

    thanks
    justjesse2
     
  10. justjesse2

    justjesse2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    161
    and by the way, all my troubles on other machine was because the tech i used to go to was shortcutting and piating my own software
    i just happened to come across a bad apple so to speak


    justjesse2
     
  11. jogar

    jogar

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    What happens when you try to boot the Windows XP Pro CD? Do you get a repair option at some point?
     
  12. justjesse2

    justjesse2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    161
    hello jogar
    went thru re-install with a tech for the machine
    went well ,but i know its still not right
    said i would have to do quick restore, which i tried before and didnt work right
    it was blocked by norton ghost from their cd
    thanks
    justjesse2
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - missing start files
  1. zalan
    Replies:
    23
    Views:
    398
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/118190

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice