1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Missing System File

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Jyccyj, Oct 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jyccyj

    Jyccyj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Windows XP tells me the System32/Config file is missing or corrupt so could not start. to attempt to repair it I am told to start Windows setup using the original setup CD-Rom, then select 'r' a the first screen.
    This would be fine if I had such a disk.
    Windows was preinstalled; I have a Restore disk but this of course puts the computer back to its factory state - a process I've been through before and it takes ages to reinstall all the programms etc.
    Is there anyway I can fix the problem? I tried copying the file from another computer but it wouldn't let me.
    Would getting hold of a secondhand CD-Rom work? Obviously I have my registered number.
    Any help greatly appreciated.
     
  2. mt2002

    mt2002

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    919
    Any Windows XP CD-ROM should work. For this specific problem, I would recommend running a repair installation rather then the recovery console (Which is what you were describing).

    iirc OEM computers may be different though but I believe it will still work.
     
  3. oshwyn5

    oshwyn5

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    730
  4. Jyccyj

    Jyccyj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks for the input.
    I had already read the Microsoft article which cannot be used without the disc. The problem of having an OEM system with no Windows CD still remains.
    Also I would like to do a repair installation but thjis would seem impossible without the disc.
    I do have access to a friend's cp also running Windows XP, another OEM sytem; is it possible to copy the necessary files to disc to kickstart my cp?
     
  5. mt2002

    mt2002

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    919
    If you both have the same OEM system, then yes. I am unsure of the legality of it though.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/755523

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice