1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

mmtask causing (flagging?) win98 problems

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by Ares2907, Feb 8, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ares2907

    Ares2907 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Hi all,
    I'm using Japanese windows98.
    Whilst running outlook and one or more instances of internet explorer, these will begin to behave erratically, usually not responding to mouse clicks or hanging. the three fingered salute usually brings up these progs as not responding, and as often as not mmtask will also be listed as not responding.
    Following this, restarting these progs will either not load the program or load a program that misbehaves as the last one did. In 100% of cases where this occurs, the machine is unable to shut down cleanly, halting at various stages of the shutdown process.
    I've tried searching on this forum, looked at programs such as spybot to see if it was spyware causing probs but it seems this is not the case. Does anyone have any other suggestions?
    Following is my startup list for what it is worth. . .


    StartupList report, 03/02/09, 0:16:44
    StartupList version: 1.51
    Started from : C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE
    Detected: Windows 98 SE (Win9x 4.10.2222A)
    Detected: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)
    * Using default options
    ==================================================

    Running processes:

    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\KERNEL32.DLL
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MSGSRV32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SPOOL32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MPREXE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mmtask.tsk
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MDM.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\HIDSERV.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RPCSS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\EXPLORER.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\INTERNAT.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\SYSTRAY.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\IMEJPMGR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATI2CWXX.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\NMFTASK.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\ATIPTAXX.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\APOINT\APOINT.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETWORK ASSOCIATES\MCAFEE VIRUSSCAN\AVCONSOL.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\LOADQM.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\COMMON FILES\REAL\UPDATE_OB\REALSCHED.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\RunDLL.exe
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\AIM95\AIM.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\WMIEXE.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\APOINT\APWHEEL.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\RNAAPP.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\TAPISRV.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\INTERNET EXPLORER\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\PSTORES.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\DDHELP.EXE
    C:\PROGRAM FILES\WINZIP\WINZIP32.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\STARTUPLIST.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    internat.exe = internat.exe
    ScanRegistry = c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun
    SystemTray = SysTray.Exe
    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    Ati2cwxx = Ati2cwxx.exe
    NMFTASK = nmftask.exe /RESET
    AtiPTA = Atiptaxx.exe
    AlpsPoint = C:\Progra~1\Apoint\Apoint.exe
    AvconsoleEXE = C:\Program Files\Network Associates\McAfee VirusScan\avconsol.exe /minimize
    LUNCH = C:\WINDOWS\REGEDIT.EXE /S C:\WINDOWS\LUNCH.REG
    LoadQM = loadqm.exe
    TkBellExe = "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
    ZingSpooler = C:\Program Files\Sony\ImageStation\UploadTools\ZingSpooler.exe
    RegShave = C:\Progra~1\REGSHAVE\REGSHAVE.EXE /autorun

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices

    LoadPowerProfile = Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    Hidserv = Hidserv.exe run
    Machine Debug Manager = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MDM.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    Autorun entries from Registry:
    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    Taskbar Display Controls = RunDLL deskcp16.dll,QUICKRES_RUNDLLENTRY
    AIM = C:\PROGRAM FILES\AIM95\aim.exe -cnetwait.odl

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WININIT.BAK listing:
    (Created 8/1/2003, 19:10:4)

    [rename]
    NUL=c:\windows\TEMP\GLB1A2B.EXE
    NUL=c:\windows\TEMP\GLB1A2B.EXE

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT listing:

    PATH=C:\NECUTILS\HDPREP;C:\j2sdk1.4.0_01\BIN
    loadhigh c:\windows\COMMAND\nlsfunc.exe c:\windows\country.sys
    SET PATH=%PATH%;C:\PROGRA~1\NETWOR~1\MCAFEE~1

    --------------------------------------------------

    C:\WINDOWS\WINSTART.BAT listing:

    IF NOT EXIST C:\WINDOWS\OPTIONS\ENDUSER.INF GOTO A1
    IF NOT EXIST c:\autoexec.org GOTO EXIT
    C:\LFNBK /NT /R /A C: > NUL
    copy c:\autoexec.org C:\AUTOEXEC.BAT /y > NUL
    del c:\autoexec.org
    REN C:\AOL\UNINST~1.LNK "uninstall.lnk"
    REN c:\aol "AOL 5.0"
    REN C:\others\sc\TANKEN\AP_OPER\VSC\IMG\VIRUSS~1.GIF virussc01.GIF > NUL
    COPY C:\others\sc\TANKEN\AP_OPER\VSC\IMG\virussc01.GIF C:\TANKEN\AP_OPER\VSC\IMG /Y > NUL
    REN C:\others\iroha\Progra~1 "Program files"
    REN "C:\others\iroha\Program Files\umenii\IMEClo~1.dll" "IMECloser.dll"
    REN "C:\others\iroha\Program Files\umenii\WinClo~1.dll" "WinCloser.dll"
    :A1
    IF NOT EXIST C:\WINDOWS\Ž½ŽÀŽ°ŽÄŽÒŽÆ~1\ŽÌŽßŽÛŽ¸ŽÞŽ×ŽÑ\Ž½ŽÀŽ°ŽÄŽ±Ž¯ŽÌŽß\Necfwp.lnk GOTO EXIT
    DEL C:\WINDOWS\Ž½ŽÀŽ°ŽÄŽÒŽÆ~1\ŽÌŽßŽÛŽ¸ŽÞŽ×ŽÑ\Ž½ŽÀŽ°ŽÄŽ±Ž¯ŽÌŽß\Necfwp.lnk
    :EXIT
    IF EXIST c:\options\other\tmp\NUL GOTO NXSET
    IF NOT EXIST c:\windows\nxsetup.inf GOTO NXSET
    DEL c:\windows\nxsetup.inf
    DEL c:\windows\nxsetup.exe
    DEL c:\windows\weldown.exe
    DEL c:\windows\gtronce.exe
    :NXSET
    if not exist C:\lunch.bat goto not_inst
    call C:\lunch
    IF EXIST C:\NECADSHL\DEFAULT\NASI.REG goto not_inst
    if exist c:\lunch.bat del C:\lunch.bat > NUL
    :not_inst

    --------------------------------------------------


    Enumerating Download Program Files:

    [Shockwave Flash Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\MACROMED\FLASH\FLASH.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab

    [QuickTime Object]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\QTPLUGIN.OCX
    CODEBASE = http://www.apple.com/qtactivex/qtplugin.cab

    [ZingBatchAXDwnl Class]
    InProcServer32 = C:\WINDOWS\DOWNLOADED PROGRAM FILES\BATCHDWNL.DLL
    CODEBASE = http://www.imagestation.jp/ja/pc/plugin/batchdwnl.cab?version=5,0,0,9090

    --------------------------------------------------
    End of report, 5,629 bytes
     
  2. jm100dm

    jm100dm

    Joined:
    May 26, 1999
    Messages:
    994
    Welcome to Tech Support Guy.

    To get started this can be removed. Use the uninstall or add\remove progams. Will look further.

    ZingSpooler
    ZingSpooler.exe
    This is not required and should be un-installed as it was used for a drag and drop program to upload pictures to www.zing.com. Since Zing has gone out of business, it no longer works
     
  3. jm100dm

    jm100dm

    Joined:
    May 26, 1999
    Messages:
    994
    I don't know your level of expertise with computers but have you considered the amount of resources being used? Could it be that? There are a lot of things running in the background. This link can help sort out what is needed.

    http://www.spywareinfo.org/startup_pages/startup_full.htm

    Just click edit and then find to research what you have.

    Let us know if you need more help with this.
     
  4. Steppinstone

    Steppinstone

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,798
    I also think that you need to do an online virus scan--- I did a google search on this entry,
    NUL=c:\windows\TEMP\GLB1A2B.EXE it said it could be a potential virus. you can try one here or here. These are both good online scanners. Good luck, Steppinstone
     
  5. Ares2907

    Ares2907 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Negative on the virus scan.
    I've culled a bunch of stuff out of startup and the relevant registry entries and it seems to be running better. The error certainly isn't happening 50% of the time or more as it was previously. I'm doing some progressive load testing and what not. Will update if this fails or if the problem reoccurs.
    Thanks all for suggestions et al.
     
  6. IMM

    IMM

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    3,257
    One of your entries suggests to me that your video drivers are older (probably problematic ATI's). Can you poke through the Display adapter stuff ftom Control Panel > System > Device Manager tab and tell me what the drivers are calling themselves for the Display Adapter?

    I'm thinking that the ATI taskbar thingy (referencing a 16 bit dll) might be an issue.
     
  7. Ares2907

    Ares2907 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    display adapter is
    rage mobility-m pci (Japanese Language)
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/117677

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice