1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

MOBO question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by fatbobthefirst, Jul 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. fatbobthefirst

    fatbobthefirst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    324
    Working on a T2885 Emachine.

    I got it and the people who had it said they unplugged it before going on vacation.
    When they got back she plugged it in. And nothing.

    I took it home thinking it was just the Powersupply.
    Put my powersupply in and still nothing. But at least with my PSU I get a green light on the MOBO.

    I did reseat the CPU and Ram. Nothing.

    Is is a bad MOBO and PSU with this machine?

    Without having one to test, it kind of stinks... I am just wondering why my PSU makes a green light on the MOBO and the other doesnt...This is why I am second guessing the MOBO....As of right now.
     
  2. MaverickUK

    MaverickUK

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    941
    Do any fans or such power up? Can you hear the system powering up?
     
  3. fatbobthefirst

    fatbobthefirst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    324
    Nothing at all with any of the PSU's
     
  4. MaverickUK

    MaverickUK

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    941
    If the other supply is known to be working and it's the correct PSU and all cable are correctly connected, then the issue lies with the motherboard - unless the PSU's are majorly underpowering the system (unlikely).
     
  5. zyper95

    zyper95

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    881
    Does the PSU that you have use to test it has the same specification from the original PSU?
     
  6. fatbobthefirst

    fatbobthefirst Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    324
    I would have to check. Didnt. I know the i used was to power a AMD chip and the so called bad one is to power a celeron. But without really looking I have no clue.
    I will be checking it at Lunch.

    But if its the same do we agree MOBO?
     
  7. zyper95

    zyper95

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    881
    If the PSU is the same then it could be the MOBO after all is the problem. Remember using a different PSU specification could fry the MOBO. :D
     
  8. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    What specification change would be necessary to fry the mobo? :confused:
     
  9. zyper95

    zyper95

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    881
    The wattage of a PSU is not the only indicator. Installing a PSU depends on the component that your system has and settings if the PSU can support it.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/597256

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice