1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Mobo Wont mount correctly plz Help

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Jbro92, Dec 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jbro92

    Jbro92 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Ok so I just finished buying a Thermaltake Armour Case and a Striker Extreme mother Board With two 8800 GTX BFGs and I can't get the Mother board to mount. It just dosen't line up with the slots in the rear of the case. Has anyone else gotten this Case/Motherboard Combo to work. IF so How? Were did you mount it?
     
  2. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,669
    Search the archives someone else recently was having a problem with the case alignment.
     
  3. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,669
  4. Jbro92

    Jbro92 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Were was this post?
     
  5. Jbro92

    Jbro92 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    thanks
     
  6. Jbro92

    Jbro92 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    That dosen't say how the problem was fixed. Also my problem is that the board isn't high enough verticaly when the board is standing up. the hieght of the Standoffs is fine. Any thoughts on what to do?
     
  7. Frank4d

    Frank4d Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    Do you have a digital camera to post a couple of PICs?
     
  8. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,669
    Are you saying with the case laying flat (as it would be if you were installing the board) that the standoffs raise the board high enough, but you can't move the board up to align with the I/O shield?

    If this is correct then the manufacturer may have put the wrong board mounting plate in the case. Also, look at the board mounting plate and see if it looks like it is 180° out of position.
     
  9. Jbro92

    Jbro92 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Sorry I Dont. But whats wrong is my PCI slots don't match my slots in the rear of my chassis so I think I may have to drill my computer.
     
  10. Frank4d

    Frank4d Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    That doesn't make any sense. Either the case is not per ATX standard or the motherboard isn't, but the specs I found on the internet says they are.
     
  11. Jbro92

    Jbro92 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Yes They raise the board high enoughbut it does align with the I/O slot but the board dosen't align with the PCI slots for video cards audio cards. Aslo both the board and case are ATX
    I checked other picture of the case and board and all of the holes are in the correct places.
     
  12. Flags

    Flags

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,930
    Jbro: You don't have a problem. The PCI slots set above the opening in the back of the case because the card mount is below the card.
    Take a PCI card and install it and you"ll see what I mean.
     
  13. Jbro92

    Jbro92 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Wow yeah, the mounting is still off but I can twist the card enough to still have acess to it. Thanks everyone
     
  14. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,669
    You can do what you want, but IMO I think you are just asking for future problems by having to twist a PCI card to make it fit. I would RMA the chassis and get one with correct alignment.
     
  15. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,672
    The above is correct. Think about what you are doing. If you "twist" the card, you run a very real risk of popping solder traces as the board heats up and cools down. This would not be a problem with boards that do not get hot like a nic however modern video cards do get quite hot.

    If the card does not fit, something is wrong. Get a case that works with your board.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/665778