modem cannot detect a dialing tone

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

nuggyrush

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 27, 2004
Messages
30
my modem cannot detect a dialing tone, I checked everything from enabling it and do a query modem dignostics. I am using America Online version 7.0 and it still reports that modem cannot detect dialing tone. How can I fix this?
Thank you in advance
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2003
Messages
1,429
get into modem properities then click on modem up the top and untick wait for dialtone
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2003
Messages
2,016
Another question: is the modem actually getting a dial tone but doesn't seem to recognize it? If your modem has two jacks, are you sure you have the phone line plugged into the correct one? When there are two, one is usually marked for the phone line (you should see the word "LINE" stamped on the metal) and the other is for connecting a telephone (has a picture of a phone).

Did it ever work?

MBN
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
disconnect the cable for the telephone point - plug in another telephone and see of you get a dialing tone - that will at least prove everythings ok up to the telephone socket.

if you have a handsfree telephone you can plug the cable connector which plugs into the modem on the PC into the telephone and then check cable adapter etc, since if you get a dialtone there you know its PC; Modem hardware, Driver or settings
 

nuggyrush

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 27, 2004
Messages
30
I was able to get the dialing tone from other telephone. Other people told me that I should uninstall the modem and unistall it again, will this work?
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2003
Messages
1,429
if you were able to get dial tone from other phone,then just disable wait for dialtone and it should connect.
get into modem properities then click on modem up the top and untick wait for dialtone
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top