1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

modem diagnostics "cannot open port"

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by rebel89, Sep 28, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rebel89

    rebel89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Sir,
    I put windows98SE on a new computer and all systems appear to work perfectly except the modem. It appears in the control panel and drivers appear to be ok...When I run diagnostics the message I keep getting is "unable to open port" any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

    thanks much as before
     
  2. carltasha

    carltasha

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2001
    Messages:
    983
    I just want you to know the we are looking into it .
     
  3. rugrat

    rugrat

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,869
  4. rebel89

    rebel89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks much...tried the modem troubleshoot. It shows no conflicts, drivers are correct for that modem...still diagnostics gets the "cannot open port" message...any other suggestions appreciated.
    thank rebel89
     
  5. Monstrous Mi

    Monstrous Mi

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    623
    If you hit Ctrl>Alt>Delete to bring up the task manager, do you see rnaapp.exe? If so, end this task and try again.
     
  6. rebel89

    rebel89 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    :( :( Thanks much but nothing shows up when I hit Ctrl.alt.del except explorer or just whatever is supposed to be there. The modem is detected...it shows "no conflicts" just diagnostics run show "cannot open port" but as I said...it states "no conflicts"

    any other suggestions appreciated.

    rebel89
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - modem diagnostics cannot
  1. Pavlov8136
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    109
  2. digitized
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    138
  3. Giant Octopus
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    488
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/97488

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice