1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

modem disconnects

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by KrzyPrk, Dec 18, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. KrzyPrk

    KrzyPrk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    328
    I'm having trouble w/ this modem disconnection problem. everytime logging online using dial ups using AOL, it signs off every 5 - 25 mins. Is there a way to have a stronger connection?

    using win98se
    56k modem
     
  2. deuce

    deuce

    Joined:
    May 26, 2001
    Messages:
    7,530
    Are you doing anything before then? AOL and other ISPs have problems with line overloads and stuff so they kick you off if you are inactive for 10 or 20 min I think. (one of those, but less than 30 min for sure)
     
  3. KrzyPrk

    KrzyPrk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    328
    It's not due from being inactive cuz it signs off while being active. I remember reading something bout having a stronger connection w/ dial ups in a magazine but dont remember the step. :( :( :(

    I thought maybe someone would know here to solve this problem.
     
  4. kitmac

    kitmac

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2001
    Messages:
    82
    Hi,

    I had a similar problem using AOL dial up. Random disconnects all over the place.

    It turned out to be a problem with noise on my phone line - a 20+ year old twisted pair copper line.

    I switched to a cable telephone line and the problem never happened again.

    I've also heard that certain modems (like Diamond Supras - the make I had at the time) can disconnect if there is an incoming call on your phone line.

    Given all the problems I had with dial-up, I would strongly recommend you get Cable Internet if the cost/availability is okay where you are.

    My flat rate AOL access used to cost me 15 GBPounds a month (about $20?) but for an extra 10GBPounds (about $13) a month, I get more than 12 times the bandwidth and near bulletproof reliability (only 2 outages of less than a half-hour in the past 5 months).

    Hope this helps.

    Best Regards,
    Kit
     
  5. KrzyPrk

    KrzyPrk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    328
    hey kitmac

    You just reminded me. I have to check out the aol configuration w/ the disabling the caller ID which i havent done. That computer is at my friend's house. I'm not sure if they have call waiting. that could do it. i'm gonna check it out soon in a couple of hours. Also, i'll be checking on their phonline.

    oh, i do have cable speed for awhile. man, it's great and no hassles using up the phoneline.

    and thanks
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62156

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice