1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Modem doesnt work

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by markshark09, Dec 6, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. markshark09

    markshark09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2001
    Messages:
    99
    I have a really old internal hayes 2400 modem and win98SE
    When i use the wizard win98 came with it says no modem was found

    when i pick the modem from a list then click diagnostics and then the modem doesnt respond

    The modem worked fine in another computer but not in this one
     
  2. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    You need to delete all modems in system properties then reboot. When you reboot the plug & play will be find & add it back to your system. Go to start/settings/systems/device manager ... click view device by type... then click the plus mark (+) on Modem...

    Then after rebooting, update your drivers for the modem.

    post back & let us know


    Savvy :)
     
  3. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Nah....there is probably a conflict between the modem and an existing on board COM port....more than likely COM2. Look at the modem, there are probably jumpers on it to configure the com port and IRQ. If it is set up as COM2 and you are not using your on board COM2 for a mouse or something, reboot the PC, go into the BIOS and disable the on board COM2 port. Easy!!
     
  4. Max19

    Max19 Account Disabled

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,222
    What will you be connecting to with a 2400kbps modem?
     
  5. ezymony

    ezymony

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    741
    you can buy a good 56k modem for under $50 just about anywhere even walmart sells them now.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60920

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice