Modem driver

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

pfoerste

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 13, 2001
Messages
525
I am trying to update my daughters computer. She don't have the drivers for her modem.
Could not get anywhere at the Rockwell webb site. Could be me.
It's a PCI 56K Rockwell 98. There are 2 FCC No's.
1456vqh-r and H8ntai-25712-m5-e

Can someone guide to a link to get the drivers?

Thanks!
 

pfoerste

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 13, 2001
Messages
525
Thanks for the link Debe. I found a couple there, that almost match up the description and numbers I have. I'll give them a try.
 

pfoerste

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 13, 2001
Messages
525
Thanks dvko1, I'll also give that a try. The Belarc print out list it as a Rockwell HCF 56k data/fax RTAD pci.

One of them should work. Thanks again.
 

pfoerste

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 13, 2001
Messages
525
Loaded one of the drivers. The Device manager detects the modem
(Rockwell HCF 56K Data/Fax RTAD PCI Modem)

When I go into the Control Panel > Modem Icon > Properties > Diagnostics, I get the message, Modem failed to respond.

Then I go into the Device Manager, under Modem it shows the modem, but when I click on properties I get the error messsage.
"Cannot read port name from Registry"

Can someone help? Thanks!

This computer specs.
AMD K6-2 500, 128mb ram, 20gb Maxtor, Win 98xe
 

pfoerste

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 13, 2001
Messages
525
Something new.
In Device manager, Other Devices I had 2 things.
(?) Unsupported device
(?!) Wave device for Voice modem (drivers not installed)
I clicked and installed driver and that disapeared. The (?) Unsupported device remains.
Also Under the Modems I got another modem (Same name) but modem #2. At Port Com4, Interupt 0, Address 2E8, Uart NS 16550AN. Is there a problem with the Interupt 0?

When I go to the Modem Icon Properties > Diagnostics it shows the modem is responding. and on com4

I have not tried to install netzero yet. I have only one phone line
and am waiting to see if some one has some info to help me from messing up.

How do I find out what the Unsupported device is, or just ignor it if the modem works.

Thanks!
 

pfoerste

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 13, 2001
Messages
525
The Modem works and got online with Netzero. So I guess I will just leave it the way it is. It don't seem to be broke, so I won't try and fix it.

Thanks!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top