1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

modem driver

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by jssch, Dec 2, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jssch

    jssch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2000
    Messages:
    472
    After a successful reformat of the hard drive, I have run into my first problem.


    The modem that I have currently is different than the one that was in the computer, when I bought it. (Lightning --- had to replace it 6 mos after bought it)

    I have no idea where the manual for the new modem is since it has almost been 3 years and we have moved states.

    I know that It was a Zoom 56k v90.

    I went to the Zoomtel.com website but I cant seem to find a driver to download. There were several files to download, but I couldnt recognize them as drivers.

    Is there a generic driver for modems? Is there any place I can get a driver from other than the manufacturer?
     
  2. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    Do you have a model number? Might say it on the card or can you give us the FCC ID number off it?
     
  3. jssch

    jssch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2000
    Messages:
    472
    No way of knowing without the manual? Will I be able to tell if I open the computer up?
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,114
  5. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    Sorry, jssch - I must have added to my post while you were responding.
     
  6. jssch

    jssch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2000
    Messages:
    472
    OK I got the comp open up and found the model #

    Zoom 56k PCI Faxmodem Model 2925L
     
  7. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
  8. jssch

    jssch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2000
    Messages:
    472
    OK new problem

    the driver file is 6.97 mb
    too large for a floppy
    my laptop doesnt have the cd burner my desktop does
    of course i cant get online without the driver :)

    WHat can I do now? to get the driver on my laptop and then over to my desktop?
     
  9. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,114
    Okay

    Download it then we'll split it. Get Mastersplitter www.tomasoft.com/
    Run it, and allow it have .001 included. Then, you can open it up, and allow it to be split into files large enough to fit on floppies. You will have to set up Mastersplitter on the other pc, but its small enough for a floppy.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  10. Ginnis12

    Ginnis12

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    97
    Couldnt you just Zip file it like a Winzip program?

    Lane
     
  11. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,114
    Good Point, try that first, and if not have a go with mine.

    I need sleep. 10 more minutes, then bed. :p

    eddie
     
  12. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    Don't think that'll work in this case - still too large. I just tested it by unzipping the original (was already zipped as self-extracting to begin with), removed the files specific to XP, NT, and 2000 leaving only the ones for 95/98 but still only zipped to 6MB with max compression.
     
  13. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,114
  14. jssch

    jssch Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2000
    Messages:
    472
    I think when I download it it is already a zip file

    it loads zp6.00.exe
     
  15. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    Ya, Eddie's should work.
    And I also just remembered that Winzip will allow you to span across multiple floppies too:

    WinZip® makes it easy to create Zip files that “span” multiple disks. This is useful if the files you are working with will not fit on one disk.

    To make a Zip file that spans multiple disks, simply create a Zip file on a removable disk, then add files to the Zip as you normally would. If the disk fills during Add operation, you will be prompted for another disk. Simply insert the next disk and click the OK button.
    Important: disk spanning is not available when adding files to an existing archive; it is only available while creating a new archive. Also note that you cannot add or remove files from a Zip file that spans disks. WinZip requires pre-formatted disks (you can format disks using My Computer or Windows Explorer).

    Example:
    To zip the files in your c:\data folder to a Zip file called A:\DATA.ZIP:

    1. Start WinZip.
    2. Drag and drop the c:\data folder from My Computer or Windows Explorer to the WinZip window.
    3. In the Add dialog box, type the filename of the Zip file (A:\DATA.ZIP).
    4. Click the Add button.

    If more than one disk is needed, you will be prompted for additional disks.

    Copyright © 1991-2000 by WinZip Computing, Inc. All rights reserved.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60478

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice