Modem question

ingeborgdot

I am finally switching internet companies. I am needing a cable modem and they say it needs to be a Docsis 3. There are so many out there. Does the cable modem make a difference? I have never used one before so I'm kind of new to the cable modem stuff. Thanks.

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
They are different, you need to use one that your ISP approves or you will not get much support.
They should give you a list by brand and mode.

ingeborgdot

They said it didn't really matter other than it had to have Docsis 3. I already talked to them.

Couriant

James
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
OK, any docsis 3.0 modem should be fine (Arris/Motorola is the most common) but the question is, do you have a router already? If so, get the SB8200 modem. If you don't and need wireless capability, get the SBG8300 modem.

plodr

Liz
I can vouch for Arris/Motorola Surfboard models for a modem.
I always purchase a wireless separate router. I prefer 2 units rather than a gateway (modem and router combined) because it is easier to troubleshoot if something is not working.

Couriant

James
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
I can vouch for Arris/Motorola Surfboard models for a modem.
I always purchase a wireless separate router. I prefer 2 units rather than a gateway (modem and router combined) because it is easier to troubleshoot if something is not working.
And in my experience you have more control on the router part as some ISPs do lock that down to basic information, unless that has changed in the last few years.

zx10guy

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter