1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Modem / Router Internet multiple connection. Help!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Crakzor, Jul 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Crakzor

    Crakzor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    I'm currently trying to have internet in a different place than my main one, i have the current modem plugged.

    http://www.motorola.com/Business/US...nd/SURFboard+Modems+and+Gateways/SB6180_US-EN

    http://www.arrisi.com/product_catalog/listers/index.asp?id=418

    It seems both are plugged.

    On the arris one i see those lights on.

    [x] Power
    [x] DS
    [x] US
    [x] Online
    [ ] Link
    [x] Telephone 1
    [ ] Telephone 2
    [x] Battery

    On the Motorola one i got all the lights on.

    I'm trying to put internet into a second room by wire.

    I connected the wire from my second computer to the Arris modem in the yellow plug, and it still doesn't work.

    Could i please get some help on how i could get multiple internet, i'm really having some trouble right now.

    Thank you very much!


    /Edit If it helps, i use Windows Vista.

    If it's not possible to receive multiple internet with those, please tell me what i need!

    PS: Sorry for my grammar, my natal language is french.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You can't connect multiple cable modems to a single cable account. You need to connect a router to the working cable modem and distribute the network connections from the router, either wired or wireless.
     
  3. Crakzor

    Crakzor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    I currently have a Bell router that i don't use, i'm currently with Videotron.

    If i plug it with the two modems, will it work?

    Or maybe i could use that router on my second computer to catch the signal of the modem?
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You can not use the second modem for anything on your cable connection, it's surplus!

    If you have a standard router with an Ethernet WAN connection, you can use that with the cable modem that is currently connected and working. What's the exact model of that Bell router?
     
  5. Crakzor

    Crakzor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    2wire 2701hg-g
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    That won't do it, it's a DSL/ADSL modem/router, and isn't compatible with the cable modem. You need a plain Ethernet equipped broadband router.
     
  7. Crakzor

    Crakzor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    I also have a D-link WBR-2310.

    Maybe that could work.

    I have an issue with it tho, it stopped getting Detected for some reason, i have the installation CD for D-link.

    I think it says my Network magic trial is over, but i bought the router and i can't use it? That is ridiculous.

    If i could get it to work... hargh.
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Well, the D-link WBR-2310 is compatible, and you can forget about the stupid network magic and installation CD. Using that D-link WBR-2310, try this installation procedure.




    The following procedure should get you a connection with any broadband modem that is configured to use DHCP for the router connection, such as cable modems, and many DSL modems. If you require PPPoE configuration for the DSL modem, that will have to be configured to match the ISP requirements.

    Note that the wireless encryption and channel selection will have to be done after the basic wired connection is established, the first step is to get wired connections working.


    • Reset the router to factory defaults by holding the reset button down for 15 seconds with power on.
    • Turn off everything, the modem, router, computer.
    • Connect the modem to the router's WAN/Internet port.
    • Disconnect any USB connection to the modem, it will not be used.
    • Connect the computer to one of the router's LAN/Network ports.
    • Turn on the modem, wait for a steady connect light.
    • Turn on the router, wait for two minutes.
    • Boot the computer.

    When the computer is completely booted, let's see this.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous command output!

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/936377

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice