1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Modem works fine but can't connect?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jhyun45, Sep 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jhyun45

    jhyun45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I have two computers, one in my playroom and one in my room. I recently used a systems recovery disc on my computer and erased everything. But now i have no internet, but the internet on the playroom computer works fine.

    I'm not really good with computers but i have a linksys modem from comcast and has an ethernet cable hooked up to the computer in the playroom to my computer in my room and it says that the modem is disconnected.

    anyone know how to get my internet back on my computer? =\

    using windows xp on both computers
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

    Please respond to all the following steps.

    1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
    2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
    3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?



    Let's see this as well.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  3. jhyun45

    jhyun45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    1. 1394 Net Adapters and Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC
    2. Nope
    3. Nope

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

    C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator>IPCONFIG /ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : your-b27fb1c401
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : chn.comcast.net

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : chn.comcast.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Eth
    ernet NIC
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-D4-75-C8-41
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.10
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 2008년 9월 30일 화요일 오후 10:20:24

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 2008년 9월 30일 화요일 오후 11:20:24


    C:\Documents and Settings\HP_Administrator>
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    That system appears to be connected, is this the one that can't connect?


    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING 206.190.60.37

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  5. jhyun45

    jhyun45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    I posted this awhile ago, but havn't had access to a computer in awhile*

    I have two computers, one in my playroom and one in my room. I recently used a systems recovery disc on my computer(The one in my room) and erased everything. But now i have no internet, but the internet on the playroom computer works fine.

    I'm not really good with computers but i have a linksys modem from comcast and has an ethernet cable hooked up to the computer in the playroom to my computer in my room.

    I'm trying to get the internet to work on in my room computer but i have no idea what to do? The playroom computer works fine but when i try to go on the internet on my computer, it says it's not connected

    using windows xp on both computers

    Any Help?
     
  6. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,862
    Could you give us a little more information, please?
    Exact model of the Linksys router. Is it a modem/router?
    If Comcast modem, make and model?
    Make and model of your computer?
    What is the make/model of ethrnet adapter in the computer in your room?
    Asking only because I want to be perfectly clear, your room computer is plugged directly into the router?

    First, unplug the ethernet cable from the computer, reboot the computer and connect the line again. Probably won't change anything, but KISS.

    Most likely the adapter didn't install properly when you did the restore. Possibly corupted drivers.
    To check for that, look in Control Panel, System, Hardware tab, Device Manager, expand Network Adapters.
    What is listed?
    Is there a yellow circle with ! in it by the ethernet adapter?
    If there is, right click the adapter name, then click on Properties in the popup menu. What message is there on the General tab?
    While you are at it it, if anything in Device Manager has a yellow circle by it, list it.

    More things you could try, but don't want to overwhelm you.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I merged the threads, let's not start duplicates. :)

    I had previously asked for information and never got it...
     
  8. jhyun45

    jhyun45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Lol sorry about that Johnwill

    My computer in my room is an Emachines computer
    It's a wireless-G Cable Gateway Model WCG200-CC
    So the ethernet is connected to the Linksys which is then connected on my computer



    And to johnwill, when i type ipconfig /all in the broken computer in my room all it says is "Windows IP Configuration" but doens't list anything else
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    That indicates you have no network hardware that Windows networking recognizes. I need to see the stuff in Device Manager again we looked at previously. Post a screen shot of that here.


    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to TSG, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
     
  10. jhyun45

    jhyun45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    There are actually ? and ! in the device manager, i'm not sure why i said no last time 0_0. Haha sorry >.<
     

    Attached Files:

  11. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You're missing your motherboard drivers as well as the network and video drivers. Download them from the computer or motherboard manufacturer and install them, I think you'll probably be on the way to happiness.
     
  12. jhyun45

    jhyun45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    how would i download them from the computer?
     
  13. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    You download using the computer you're on right now. Save them to a flash drive or CD and install them on the computer that can't connect.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/754671

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice