Modem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DoyceJ

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
I dont know a thing about this so I have to ask.

Modem-HSP56 MR
OS-98se

I am considering a bios upgrade but dont know for sure the steps involved. I found only this and it appears to be for W2000 only. Any help would be appreciated.
 

Max19

Account Disabled
Joined
Jul 31, 2001
Messages
1,222
You download the BIOS flash program, put a blank floppy in the drive, and double-click on the file you downloaded. Then you boot from the disk, and follow the prompts.

Make sure you have EXACTLY the correct BIOS. If anything goes wrong (lose power, flash with the wrong BIOS, etc.), your computer will become a useless boat anchor.

Why did you post your modem information and title this thread "Modem"? What does your modem have to do with a BIOS upgrade?
 

DoyceJ

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
It was listed as such.

"Make sure your modem firmware is "flashed" with the latest BIOS upgrade from your modem vendor"

Like I said, I dont know a thing about it and wanted to be sure there wasnt some kind of difference. Thats why the link and the info. also. It is the only one I have found so far and I am not sure that it is correct since it is listed with W2000.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2000
Messages
853
Doyce,
Just found some info about the Motorola modem drivers:

Software Products Division




As of July 2001, Motorola has exited the software modem business. Effective immediately, Motorola is discontinuing all soft modem products and future development.

Please note that our secure customer web site has been removed from operation. If you are an end user, you may continue to reach our third party technical support center by following the "Consumer Support" link until March 30, 2002.

Please download the Windows 2000 driver for use with new, clean installs of Windows XP when Microsoft releases that OS in October 2001. Note that the Windows 2000 driver will NOT function properly with upgrades from another OS to Windows XP. Also, once loaded in Windows XP, the SM56 driver cannot be further updated.

http://e-www.motorola.com/products/softmodem/

Do you know the exact model of your modem ?
 

DoyceJ

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
First, thank you to both of you for assisting me. I do not have the knowledge or experience of either of you when it comes to things like this. I really need the support so as not to mess this up.

This is what I have

Award Modular Bios v6.00PG , An Energy Star Ally
09-08-2000-M805LR-6A6LME19C-00

Mainboard chipset 6A6LM VIA VT8363 (KT-133) Vendor ECS (Elite Group)

Modem HSP56 MR PCtel v1.00 driver hardware 032

I found this for the modem.

I didnt even know the difference between a hard and soft modem until I started this. Pathetic.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi DoyceJ,

I'm exactly the same with hardware. I wouldn't recognize a com port if it hit me over the head...

Greetz,
 

Max19

Account Disabled
Joined
Jul 31, 2001
Messages
1,222
DoyceJ, where did you see this information that mentioned your modem was involved with a BIOS flash? I checked out the link you posted, but I'm not finding anything there.

If you have a software modem, you may be able to flash upgrade the firmware, but this has nothing to do with your BIOS. Also, the BIOS is completely independent of the operating system. Some upgrades may provide support for certain things that a specific OS may want or need, but you could certainly apply the upgrade regardless of whether or not you're running that OS.
 

DoyceJ

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
This is what prompted me to start looking.

If you own a 56K analog modem (as most of us do by now), connect to the Internet using DUN (Dial-Up Networking) through PPP (Point to Point Protocol) in Windows 9x, subscribed to an ISP (Internet Service Provider) or Online Service (like America Online), and canNOT connect to the advertised speeds (at least 44-46K, the ideal being 53K), there are a few things you can do, to make sure you have done everything "humanly" possible to get the best results from your ISA (some newer 56Ks use a PCI or USB interface) modem card:

Make sure your modem firmware is "flashed" with the latest BIOS upgrade from your modem vendor, which MUST include the new ITU (International Telecommunications Union) V.90 PCM (Pulse Code Modulation) transfer protocol standard, no matter what proprietary 56K protocol your modem was using (3COM/US Robotics' x2 or Lucent/Rockwell's 56KFlex) when you purchased it.
Also check your modem's vendor web site frequently (or subscribe to their periodical e-mail newsletter/notification, if possible) for FAQs, troubleshooting tips, solutions, software/firmware upgrades/patches, or even free modem replacements (in case earlier models might have had hardware problems), regarding your particular modem.

I had thought the two were separate but this got me to wondering. If there is a Bios upgrade available I would like to find it and do it along with the modem drivers. So I believe I have found the proper upgrade for my modem but there seems to be some confusion (on my part) as to the proper Bios upgrade. I may be asking for trouble but I see no other way to effectively learn this stuff. Thats why the need for assistance. I found the above when browsing through some modem tweaking sites.
Once again, I thank you for the help but I am somewhat disappointed that no one else has stepped in.
 

Max19

Account Disabled
Joined
Jul 31, 2001
Messages
1,222
Is your computer a name brand like Dell, Gateway, HP, or Compaq? If so, you need to get the BIOS upgrade from them and no one else. If your computer is not a name brand, then you can get the upgrade from the BIOS company or the motherboard manufacturer.
 

DoyceJ

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
No, I wouldnt have one unless it was a Dell. I will keep searching. This is way more complicated than I had imagined.
 
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
1,199
Hi DoyceJ,I have no idea either,:D .Question,if you just upgrade to a new modem(v90)do you still have to upgrade the bios?
 

DoyceJ

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
I doubt you were asking me..:)...but from what I have read, I dont believe you "have" too. There may be something along the lines of what Max said that may make it necessary though. I think it is usually just to get the max benefits from each. If you do it I hope you have a easier time finding things. :)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top