1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Modems and internet accounts

Discussion in 'Networking' started by sally84, Jul 26, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sally84

    sally84 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    This is more about how the internet works that about computers.
    I recently moved into a new building that comes with a lot of amenities.
    There was a modem in the unit that didn't have the internet light when I checked, but I reset it and forgot about it.
    A few days later I called to subscribe for Verizon, after which I realised that the modem in the unit now had internet flowing.
    Question is, is the internet account associated with the modem or the address? If I choose to cancel my subscription (which the modem is still in the box) and use the free internet already in the unit, will Verizon deactivate the line or will the line stay active and continue to work, with whichever modem?
     
  2. lochlomonder

    lochlomonder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,672
    I think you may be conflating these issues incorrectly. If you signed up with Verizon and they sent you a modem, which is still in the box, then clearly you're not utilising their services. It's entirely possible the property managers enabled the modem once you moved into the building, and you've been using that ever since. I think it would be best to check with the property managers, first and foremost.
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,580
    First Name:
    Terry
    No disagreement with the above, but another possibility is that Verizon activated the line so that you would have service when you connected a modem (whether yours or the one you apparently are renting from Verizon).
     
  4. sally84

    sally84 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    That's a possibility and because I didn't check if the original restart worked or not, I cant't think of how to find out if the line was re-activated for us or if it was live already...
     
  5. Fireflycph

    Fireflycph

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    1,083
    First Name:
    Morten
    I think the logical thing here would be to ask the building management if they have some Internet contract that encompasses the whole building. You could also connect a single computer to the modem and see which IP address and DNS, especially DNS, that'll be provided. Then you can look up who owns the DNS server(s) using "Whois"
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1213567

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice