1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

modems with built-in router

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by glacr, Apr 15, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. glacr

    glacr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Are there any cable modems built with a built-in router? It could possible be my easiest solution if one exists. I have had continuing problems with two different routers and can not keep two computers connected to the internet with either router. An expert spent several hours trying to get all three of my computers connected, and said he could only connect 2 at a time. However, the second one keeps going off line. They are hard wired through a Linksys. 2 of my computers are side by side with short connections, the third is about 50 feet away. If I connect the modem directly to my main computer, it obviously works. However, when I tried to connect the adjacent one directly to the modem, it did not work.

    Glenn
     
  2. darkjedi

    darkjedi

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    263
    there has to be something wrong with a nic card on your computer , I'm using a linksys
    router and I have 3 computers connected at the same time with no problems at all,and yes there are cable mothems with routers included that all depends If you buy onewith it or your cable company carries one
     
  3. britishbeef

    britishbeef

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    I was looking for one recently, and I ended up with this one really cool never had any problems with it.HERE
     
  4. glacr

    glacr Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Thank you. I now know what my options are.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/220806

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice