1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Moniter Display Settings problems.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Dung, Jul 5, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Dung

    Dung Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Hi... my display settings seem to be outta wack after my brother used the comp last night. It's set at 640x480 and when I try to change it back to 1024x768 and restart, I get the message...

    "There is a problem with your display settings. The adapter type is incorrect, or the current settings do not work with your hardware."

    I've tried unplugging the monitor, deleting the adapter and reconfiguring, and even tried hooking up my old monitor. All to no avail.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Arcadion

    Arcadion

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,756
    Reinstall the videocard drivers. You should download the latest version.
     
  3. Dung

    Dung Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    What is the step by step process for doing this? (If you don't mind)

    Thanks!
     
  4. Trebuchet

    Trebuchet

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    281
    It depends what kind of videocard you have. Since you're computer illiterate....

    1. Goto Start and click on Control Panel.

    2. Click "Performance And Matinence" and then click "See basic information about this computer". Or, if "Performance and Matinence" doesn't show up, then just click "System".

    3. Click on the "Hardware" tab.

    4. Click on the "Device Manager" button.

    5. Click the plus sign next to "Display Adaptors".

    Tell us what you see.

    Cheers,

    Roger
     
  5. Dung

    Dung Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    RAGE PRO TURBO AGP 2X (English)
     
  6. Dung

    Dung Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    up.
     
  7. keisha26

    keisha26

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    when i click plus sign in display adaptor i can see this 53 graphics prosavageDDR
     
  8. !JOLT!

    !JOLT!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    54
  9. spoon_T_Rex

    spoon_T_Rex

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    231
    I think you mean "S3" :D
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/378151

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice