1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Moniter display with white lines and blurry screen

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by hiepnhieu9, Oct 9, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hiepnhieu9

hiepnhieu9 Thread Starter

Hello,

My Sony Vaio recently started acting up. I've been using this laptop for a couple years now and works perfectly fine. All of a sudden, it started showing white line and blurry display whenever I turn on the computer. I have tried to "drain power battery" but didnt work. When I plug it with an external monitor, it works perfecly fine with that external monitor. I have tried to take out the RAM and clean it and put it back in, however doesn't seem to work. Is the RAM my problem? Maybe replacing a new RAM will fix it? I'm a student with a tight budget and cant afford to buy a new RAM without knowing if it work. I was wondering if you guys can come up with a solution. That would be appreciated. Thank you for your timing and have a nice day!

Attached Files:

2. managed

managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

First Name:
    Allan
    Since an external Monitor works ok I think the problem is either the cable from the motherboard to the screen is damaged or has worked loose in the connector at one end, or the screen is faulty.

Was the laptop dropped or knocked recently ?

There are several models of pcg-71913L as shown here :- https://esupport.sony.com/p/model-find.pl?DIRECTOR=DOCS&mdl=PCG-71913L

So see if you can find which one you have, if it's not on a label on the bottom tap the F2 key just after switching on and look in the Bios.

3. hiepnhieu9