1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Monitor compatibility

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by GodisaJD, Aug 26, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. GodisaJD

GodisaJD Thread Starter

Hi,novice forum newbie here.Just been given a new 28" UHD monitor out of the blue and found out my 8y/old pc only has D-Sub/VGA connection.The new monitor only has 2xHGMI and 1 DP connections.I like my old pc and dont want to buy a new one.Is there any simple way to get around this? Thank you

2. flavallee

flavallee Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Frank
    You didn't describe your PC(brand name, model name, model number), but it appears it has only an integrated VGA connection.
    You didn't describe your 28" monitor(brand name, model number), but it appears it has two HDMI and one Display Port connections.
    I'm not sure a VGA-to-HDMI adapter will work, so the only suggestion I can make is to install a graphics card in your PC that has a HDMI connection.
    Be patient, and I'm sure someone else here will reply.

----------------------------------------------------------------

Last edited: Aug 26, 2019
  3. GodisaJD

GodisaJD Thread Starter

Thanks for the heads up,Did'nt think i would need specs for the basic question....I get that VGA to HMDI adapter would negate my UHD monitors capability.I have a Fujistsu Espimo P1500 mini tower.RE Graphics card with HDMI,easily fitted? likely cost? Thanks for your prompt reply! LOL This free monitor may turn out to be a Trojan horse !!

4. flavallee

First Name:
    Frank
    According to its detailed marketing specs, this is what the rear of the Fujitsu Esprimo P1500 Desktop PC looks like.
    Capture.JPG
    (click image to enlarge and view)

It has an integrated 15-pin VGA port for making a connection to a monitor.