1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Monitor Developed Greenish Tint

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by SusanW123, Dec 31, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SusanW123

    SusanW123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    My IBM monitor developed a greenish tint over the entire screen which lasted for several days. I tried unsuccessfully to fix it several times. Finally, I gave up and I disconnected and unplugged it for several days. Today, I connected it again, and it worked perfectly again, no more greenish tint. This has happened once before in the past.

    Does anyone know what is going on, and how I could fix it if/when it happens again?

    Thank you
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2018
  2. SusanW123

    SusanW123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Update: Greenish tint has RETURNED after being gone for a few hours
     
  3. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,974
    First Name:
    Allan
    Could be a poor connection somewhere. What monitor is it ? What type of cable connects it to the computer ?
     
  4. SusanW123

    SusanW123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    A VGA cable. Not sure how to answer your other question: It's an IBM 15" monitor.
     
  5. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,974
    First Name:
    Allan
    Check the cable at both ends for any bent pins, if none try plugging it in at both ends a few times which should clean the pins and hopefully give you a normal display again.

    Is it a heavy and large older type CRT monitor or a newer LCD flat thin screen one ?
     
  6. SusanW123

    SusanW123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    I changed the VGA cable and it works now... LOL I feel stupid. Thanks for the help
     
  7. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    12,974
    First Name:
    Allan
    It's often the simpler things we overlook. Glad you fixed it. (y)
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1221227

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice