1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Monitor Display turns off

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by animefreak7777, Mar 13, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. animefreak7777

    animefreak7777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    My PC specs
    Intel Core 2 Duo E7300 2.66 Ghz
    Nvidia GTX 650 1 GB graphics card
    2 GB DDR2 RAM

    My problem-
    I just added 2 GB DDR2 RAM to my original 2 GB RAM making it a total 4 GB (Both are transcend 800 speed)
    Everything works fine but when I start any games like Total War Rome 2 OR War thunder, my monitor display turns off but my PC is still running. I have to restart my PC to Turn on the display again.
    I did not have this problem with my original 2 GB RAM

    If anyone wants any more details fell free to ask.
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,625
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the brand name and model number of the motherboard?
    What's the brand name and model number and wattage of the power supply?

    Reseat the RAM modules.
    Make sure the monitor cable is securely connected to the graphics card.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. animefreak7777

    animefreak7777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Can I view the above specs in CPU-Z?
     
  4. animefreak7777

    animefreak7777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    I'm a bit ignorant about this stuff, If not, where can I view them?
     
  5. animefreak7777

    animefreak7777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    I just bought the RAM stick and plugged it in my second Slot( mother board has only 2 slots)
    It shows 4 GB RAM in the BIOS as well as My computer properties
    Do I need to do anything more to complete the process?
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,625
    First Name:
    Frank
    Do the following in your computer so we can have more information about its hardware and operating system.

    Download and save the TSG System Information Utility (SysInfo.exe) to the desktop.
    After it's been downloaded and saved, double-click it to run it.
    Information about your computer will appear.
    Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the ENTIRE text here.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. animefreak7777

    animefreak7777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E7300 @ 2.66GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 6
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 4092 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 49897 MB, Free - 10040 MB; D: Total - 49999 MB, Free - 2796 MB; E: Total - 49999 MB, Free - 3236 MB; F: Total - 49999 MB, Free - 5792 MB; G: Total - 38468 MB, Free - 2002 MB;
    Motherboard: Intel Corporation, DG31PR
    Antivirus: None
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,625
    First Name:
    Frank
    The Intel DG31PR motherboard has 2 DIMM slots and supports a maximum of 4 GB(2 GB X 2) of RAM.
    It uses 240-pin DDR2-667 or DDR2-800, 1.8 volt, unbuffered, non-ECC modules.

    The Intel Core 2 Duo E7300 2.66 GHz processor has an average benchmark score of 1741, so it really doesn't have the "horsepower" for quality gaming.

    The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 graphics card has an average benchmark score of 1832, so it may be okay for quality gaming.

    You haven't provided the brand name and model number and wattage of the power supply, so that may be a contributing factor for the display issue.

    Your computer is also running the most system-hungry version of Windows 7 and isn't designed for its hardware, so that may also be a contributing factor.
    How long has it been running Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit?

    Your computer appears to have a 250 GB(actual capacity of 232.77 GB) hard drive which is divided into 5 small partitions and which all appear to be mostly full.
    Is this correct?

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. animefreak7777

    animefreak7777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Yes its almost full but I cleared GB's worth space in all the drives.
    Also I have- i ball PSU
    Model : LPE223-400
     
  10. animefreak7777

    animefreak7777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    I started using Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit about 4-5 months ago
     
  11. animefreak7777

    animefreak7777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    The monitor I use is LG Flatron L1734S
     
  12. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,625
    First Name:
    Frank
    That appears to be a low quality power supply that's marketed as 400 watts, but in reality only provides 250 watts or less.

    Your NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 graphics card requires a minimum of a 400 watts power supply, so it's my guess the power supply is at the root of your display issue.
    Do the following in that computer.

    Download MGADiag and save it to your desktop.
    Double-click on MGADiag.exe to launch the program.
    Click "Continue".
    Ensure that the "Windows" tab is selected (it should be by default).
    Click the "Copy" button, the leave the report window open.
    Paste the report back here in your next reply.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. animefreak7777

    animefreak7777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Diagnostic Report (1.9.0027.0):
    -----------------------------------------
    Windows Validation Data-->

    Validation Code: 0
    Cached Online Validation Code: N/A, hr = 0xc004f012
    Windows Product Key: *****-*****-V9488-FGM44-2C9T3
    Windows Product Key Hash: rmk1OjF0iZq7gQoRmEcpnJHr0oc=
    Windows Product ID: 00426-OEM-8992662-00010
    Windows Product ID Type: 2
    Windows License Type: OEM SLP
    Windows OS version: 6.1.7600.2.00010100.0.0.001
    ID: {20660BB6-03BD-4B47-ACDC-EABDB6D55E05}(1)
    Is Admin: Yes
    TestCab: 0x0
    LegitcheckControl ActiveX: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    Product Name: Windows 7 Ultimate
    Architecture: 0x00000009
    Build lab: 7600.win7_rtm.090713-1255
    TTS Error:
    Validation Diagnostic:
    Resolution Status: N/A

    Vista WgaER Data-->
    ThreatID(s): N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    Version: N/A, hr = 0x80070002

    Windows XP Notifications Data-->
    Cached Result: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    File Exists: No
    Version: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    WgaTray.exe Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    WgaLogon.dll Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002

    OGA Notifications Data-->
    Cached Result: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    Version: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    OGAExec.exe Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    OGAAddin.dll Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002

    OGA Data-->
    Office Status: 103 Blocked VLK
    Microsoft Office Standard 2007 - 103 Blocked VLK
    OGA Version: N/A, 0x80070002
    Signed By: N/A, hr = 0x80070002
    Office Diagnostics: 025D1FF3-364-80041010_025D1FF3-229-80041010_025D1FF3-230-1_025D1FF3-517-80040154_025D1FF3-237-80040154_025D1FF3-238-2_025D1FF3-244-80070002_025D1FF3-258-3

    Browser Data-->
    Proxy settings: N/A
    User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Win32)
    Default Browser: C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe
    Download signed ActiveX controls: Prompt
    Download unsigned ActiveX controls: Disabled
    Run ActiveX controls and plug-ins: Allowed
    Initialize and script ActiveX controls not marked as safe: Disabled
    Allow scripting of Internet Explorer Webbrowser control: Disabled
    Active scripting: Allowed
    Script ActiveX controls marked as safe for scripting: Allowed

    File Scan Data-->
    File Mismatch: C:\Windows\system32\wat\watadminsvc.exe[Hr = 0x80070003]
    File Mismatch: C:\Windows\system32\wat\npwatweb.dll[Hr = 0x80070003]
    File Mismatch: C:\Windows\system32\wat\watux.exe[Hr = 0x80070003]
    File Mismatch: C:\Windows\system32\wat\watweb.dll[Hr = 0x80070003]

    Other data-->
    Office Details: <GenuineResults><MachineData><UGUID>{20660BB6-03BD-4B47-ACDC-EABDB6D55E05}</UGUID><Version>1.9.0027.0</Version><OS>6.1.7600.2.00010100.0.0.001</OS><Architecture>x64</Architecture><PKey>*****-*****-*****-*****-2C9T3</PKey><PID>00426-OEM-8992662-00010</PID><PIDType>2</PIDType><SID>S-1-5-21-180059192-2790036329-2572090255</SID><SYSTEM><Manufacturer>INTEL</Manufacturer><Model>DG31PR</Model></SYSTEM><BIOS><Manufacturer>Intel Corp.</Manufacturer><Version>PRG3110H.86A.0052.2008.0612.1910</Version><SMBIOSVersion major="2" minor="4"/><Date>20080612000000.000000+000</Date></BIOS><HWID>C2B83607018400F8</HWID><UserLCID>0409</UserLCID><SystemLCID>0409</SystemLCID><TimeZone>India Standard Time(GMT+05:30)</TimeZone><iJoin>0</iJoin><SBID><stat>3</stat><msppid></msppid><name></name><model></model></SBID><OEM><OEMID>ACRSYS</OEMID><OEMTableID>ACRPRDCT</OEMTableID></OEM><GANotification/></MachineData><Software><Office><Result>103</Result><Products><Product GUID="{90120000-0012-0000-0000-0000000FF1CE}"><LegitResult>103</LegitResult><Name>Microsoft Office Standard 2007</Name><Ver>12</Ver><Val>ACD7202654E586</Val><Hash>fFic3JgCreGGRxyF8uMWB4R4Jcg=</Hash><Pid>89396-707-1528066-65936</Pid><PidType>14</PidType></Product></Products><Applications><App Id="16" Version="12" Result="103"/><App Id="18" Version="12" Result="103"/><App Id="1A" Version="12" Result="103"/><App Id="1B" Version="12" Result="103"/></Applications></Office></Software></GenuineResults>

    Spsys.log Content: 0x80070002

    Licensing Data-->
    Software licensing service version: 6.1.7600.16385

    Name: Windows(R) 7, Ultimate edition
    Description: Windows Operating System - Windows(R) 7, OEM_SLP channel
    Activation ID: 7cfd4696-69a9-4af7-af36-ff3d12b6b6c8
    Application ID: 55c92734-d682-4d71-983e-d6ec3f16059f
    Extended PID: 00426-00178-926-600010-02-1033-7600.0000-0012005
    Installation ID: 014455960631614523757740187543721731126832406153605880
    Processor Certificate URL: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=88338
    Machine Certificate URL: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=88339
    Use License URL: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=88341
    Product Key Certificate URL: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkID=88340
    Partial Product Key: 2C9T3
    License Status: Licensed
    Remaining Windows rearm count: 3
    Trusted time: 3/14/2016 9:44:02 PM

    Windows Activation Technologies-->
    HrOffline: 0x00000000
    HrOnline: N/A
    HealthStatus: 0x0000000000000000
    Event Time Stamp: N/A
    ActiveX: Not Registered - 0x80040154
    Admin Service: Not Registered - 0x80040154
    HealthStatus Bitmask Output:


    HWID Data-->
    HWID Hash Current: NgAAAAEABAABAAEAAQACAAAAAgABAAEA6GHA6VCmSOSqdtYtKvGyjErnGoDoTMph/JtEm0bK

    OEM Activation 1.0 Data-->
    N/A

    OEM Activation 2.0 Data-->
    BIOS valid for OA 2.0: yes
    Windows marker version: 0x20001
    OEMID and OEMTableID Consistent: yes
    BIOS Information:
    ACPI Table Name OEMID Value OEMTableID Value
    APIC INTEL DG31PR
    FACP INTEL DG31PR
    HPET INTEL ICH7HPET
    MCFG INTEL DG31PR
    SLIC ACRSYS ACRPRDCT
     
  14. animefreak7777

    animefreak7777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Is my PSU was the issue, why did the problem start after I added 2 GB RAM?
     
  15. animefreak7777

    animefreak7777 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    I just downloaded Furmark test and ran it, monitor display turned off. What does it mean??
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1167886

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice