monitor help please!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

gemma_meow

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Messages
4
first im sorry if this in wrong forum bit :/

well i just got a new monitor but now i have set it up the screen is really fuzzy and big, which is actually hurting my eyes to look at. when i press autoset it says for optimal display change resolution to 1680x1050.. but in propoties there isnt a option for thatr. any advice or help would be brillliant to save my poor eyes :(
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,251
Right-click MY COMPUTER, then click Properties - Hardware - Device Manager.

Click the + in Display Adapters

Click the + in Monitors

What's listed in both entries?

--------------------------------------------------------

What's the brand name, model name, and model number of your computer and new monitor?

--------------------------------------------------------

LCD flat-screen monitors display best at their native resolution.

One problem that can occur is the display adapter/video card in the computer not being able to support the resolutions of newer wide-screen monitors.

The end result is a resolution too large and washed out and fuzzy.

--------------------------------------------------------
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,251
You're not answering all my questions and not providing all the information that I asked for.

--------------------------------------------------------

VIA/S3G Unichrome IGP is an integrated graphics controller that comes in old computers.

It's not designed to support and provide resolution settings for new wide-screen monitors.

--------------------------------------------------------
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,251
You have NOT provided me with any information about your computer or your monitor, so I don't know what to advise you at this point.

A new computer will come with Windows 7 and not with Windows XP, so you would need to learn how to use a whole new operating system.

Am I correct in assuming that you've been using Windows XP for a long time and aren't very computer-knowledgeable?

-------------------------------------------------------
 

gemma_meow

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Messages
4
i have no idea what model etc of computer , i was giving it to help with my school work a year ago with xp. was working fine untill i put this monitor on it. the monitor is a lg l227w. ill try find out what computer it is but it looks like it has a custom case so no make etc on it. and yes im not very computer-knowledgeable
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,251
You previously advised there was NO entry named Monitors in the Device Manager?

That entry should be there, and there should be something listed in that entry.

-------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top