1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Monitor: No Signal Input

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by systems1, Aug 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. systems1

    systems1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Hello guys, I believe this is my first post on the forums, so please forgive my ignorance towards computers. My rig is pretty outdated by today's standards, but, until my current problem, I had no issues running video games, (Skyrim, SW:tor, CoD:MW 3). However, about a few weeks ago when I initially woke up the PC up from sleep mode, the desktop would show but then the screen would black, monitor light still green though. About a week ago, when I went to wake it up, the screen light turned green then immediately went orange and a "No Signal Input" warning flashed upon the monitor before it went black, no desktop view this time.

    I initially thought monitor or video card. I switched both components, separately, with another PC in which both components are known to work, and the problem still persisted. I then tested the RAM individually, and also tested RAM with the other PC's that works fine. That stretched my PC abilities, thus I took it to a shop, and they did the some checks and came up with no definite solution other than motherboard or PSU. They ordered a 600w PSU and installed it with the same problem. My question is two part I suppose. Would, after those checks, it appear that the problem lay with the motherboard? And if so, would it be worth replacing a motherboard with such outdated hardware?

    My PC stats, to the best of my knowledge:
    OS: Windows xp sp3
    GC: Nvidia 9800 gtx
    PC: AMD (cannot recall specific model, but dated no doubt)
    PSU: 600W
    MoBo: Asus (unknown/shop couldn't tell) socket 940
    RAM: 4g DDR2
    It has 2 HDD's, but I can't tell specific speeds since it is in Korean.

    Sorry I cannot provide anymore information regarding the hardware models, but I appreciate any potential feedback for a fix. For all I know, it could be some small fix being overlooked; software, hdd, or something along those lines. The shop told me they could find another motherboard with similar socket size at or around 120-200 US dollars. If that isn't the problem though, I could be out that much towards a new PC instead.
     
  2. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,649
    I would tend to think your mb has failed. Unless it is a relatively newer system, it generally is not cost effective to replace the board. Installing a more modern board, cpu, and ram is usually more cost effective however it it up to you.

    In order to give you a more specific answer, you need to post the exact cpu and mb you currently have installed.
     
  3. cwwozniak

    cwwozniak Chuck Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    49,399
  4. systems1

    systems1 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Sorry for the delay, and yes it's the same situation. I marked the message as resolved once I took to the shop.

    This is all I can find on the pcu and mobo.

    pcu: AMD Athlon 64x2
    mobo: Asus M2N AMD AM2 Platform
    Nvidia nforce 430 MCP
    Dual Channel DDR2 800/667/533
    Q connector
    Asus Crashfree Bios3
    Asus EZ Flash2

    I'm not sure how much information was needed for the motherboard, so I just posted what was on asus's website.
     
  5. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,649
    AM2 is at least 4 generations old tech and NOT worth repairing. There are a few am2, am2+, am3 boards still available new however they are very low end mb.

    In short if your board has failed, it is time to replace it with a modern am3 or 3+ board and cpu, along with modern ddr3 ram.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1064247