1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Monitor Problem with Dell Laptops

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by krazeecrw, Apr 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. krazeecrw

    krazeecrw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    382
    Hi all-

    I have several users using Dell laptops (2 D820 and 1 D810). They normally use the laptop on the docking station and everything is fine. If they are undocked, the monitor of the laptop screen does not go to full size. You see about an inch dark border around the screen as opposed the screen being fully stretched out. This happens whenever the computer is not docked. Is there a setting that I need to look at to correct this?
     
  2. JDonner

    JDonner Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    59
    If that's the case that you've bought Dell laptops in bulk, why not contact Dell, I assume you have some contract with them whith such quantities.
     
  3. krazeecrw

    krazeecrw Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    382
    That is going to be my next step. I just wanted to see if there were any tricks I might be missing
     
  4. Lurker1

    Lurker1

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,992
    I would try changing the screen resoulution. Its probably set on the laptop to make the external screen look good. Right click on the desktop and go to properties.
     
  5. DellCA

    DellCA Account Closed

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    krazeecrw:

    I’m at Dell Headquarters in Austin, Texas and I just came across this thread. The first things I would try will only take a couple of minutes.

    1. In the bios, under the "Video" heading there is an option for "LCD Panel Expansion". Set this to "Enabled" if it is not already.

    2. Boot the laptop up with it undocked and delete all the hardware profiles in there except for the default "undocked" one that you're using- which it won't allow you to delete for that reason. Then set the screen to the proper resolution and reboot.

    Post back with results or if you have any other questions.


    Neil
    Dell, Inc.
    [email protected]
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/558456

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice