1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Monitor static causes reboot

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by sunshine4us, Dec 2, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sunshine4us

    sunshine4us Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2
    I just recently added a new Samtron 77V 17 inch monitor to my system. Soon afterwards I started having a problem with my entire system rebooting randomly.

    I ran my Norton's System works thinking I could find a problem with the operating system (never even considering the new monitor).

    I found quite by accident that if I touch the new monitor’s screen, it gives a static discharge (such as rubbing the screen) which causes my system to reboot.

    How can I fix this problem???
     
  2. Paul Nagel

    Paul Nagel

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 1999
    Messages:
    1,843
    Make sure that wall socket that the monitor/computer are connected too are grounded. I have seen older computer monitors that had anti static screens in front with a ground wire to the computer, but i dont think you should have to go to that extreem with a new one. I would also make sure the monitor cable to the computer is connected firmly and use the screw downs to make a reliable, solid connection.
     
  3. Monk_

    Monk_

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Messages:
    702
    Try Endust for Electronics. Yep Endust. It comes in a blue can and with regular use it really cuts down on static from a monitor screen. Does a good job of cleaning too. I've used it for years on monitors, tvs, vcrs etc.
     
  4. sunshine4us

    sunshine4us Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2
    Hello Paul, and Monk

    I just verified that the outlet that the computer power strip is plugged into is actually grounded. I have also removed the monitor plug from this strip and put it directly into the second receptacle of the very same grounded outlet.

    It has been suggested that I try an anti static screen in front with a ground wire to the computer. Perhaps I should try that, or maybe return this monitor and buy a different brand. The problem is, now I’m extremely curious.

    Monk suggested Endust, but I’m afraid if my wife sees that I use it on the computer, she’ll want me to do more of her work.. haha.

    Another Tech guy replied to this and suggested that perhaps there were some environmental changes in the computer area. There were none that I can think of, except the heat in the house, as winter is approaching, there is more heat being used.

    Any other suggestions??

    Thank you, sincerely,

    Don
    :confused:
     
  5. Chum

    Chum

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2000
    Messages:
    1,005
    There is naturally more static in the winter time because of less humidity(a humidifier sometimes helps). Does the new monitor have a degauss button. Try that(a shot in the dark).
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60482

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice