1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Monitor suddenly died, yet there's a faint display....

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Diego Wolfwood, Aug 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Diego Wolfwood

    Diego Wolfwood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    I run a dual monitor setup with two 19" widescreen LCD's. This morning my primary monitor wasn't turning on. After some messing with the cord I got it to turn on. Later on it did it again, but I couldn't get it back on. I ruled out the cord by using a different one, something happened to the monitor itself. At first I thought the screen went out itself, but I managed to set both monitors up as clones and there's a very faint image on it still. I can see the things I'm doing on it, but just barely. Does anyone have any ideas on how to fix this problem?
     
  2. buffoon

    buffoon

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    19,165
  3. Diego Wolfwood

    Diego Wolfwood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    Some useful info, thank you! My monitor definitely still works, I can see it with a flashlight. I am guessing that one or more capacitors need replaced, that was the issue in the first thread. I got mien apart, and most of the capacitors look bloated....

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    What do you guys think? Am i really gonna have to replace -all- of those capacitors.....yikes xD
     
  4. Tanis

    Tanis

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,969
    First Name:
    Shane
    I would start with the backlight / inverter replacement before even thinking about fiddling around trying to replace caps. Having a very feint viewable image is typical of a backlight failure, they typically aren't that expensive (for laptops anyway, I have never had to replace one in a desktop LCD) and easy to change normally.
     
  5. Diego Wolfwood

    Diego Wolfwood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    I'd look into that, but 2 of those capacitors (thought it's hard to see) are DEFINITELY leaking out the top. Judging from videos I've seen that's a bad sign and they need to be replaced. I have soem soldering equipment, I just need replacement capacitors. I'll go ahead and replace since they are leaking and hope that works. If not I'll look into the other fix.
     
  6. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,670
    Personally I would just purchas a new monitor. If you decide to try to replace the caps, let us know how it goes.
     
  7. Diego Wolfwood

    Diego Wolfwood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    205
    It's worth a try, it'll be much cheaper than buying a new one.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1013226

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice