Monitor switch

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Kerri Ann

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
995
well, i finally got jipped. Someone traded me some computer parts, and I thought i was getting a cool deal, but I got a crappy monitor switch. I just hooked it up, and I'll try to explain what it looks like- the dark edges of any image are shadowed kinda, two or three times vertically to the right. I know it's not the cables, i purchased them today, and i even got two different brands just to be sure... they both produce the same results. It's giving me a headache! I also tried to fix it with the monitor controls, and the settings in control panel, but no luck there. Is it worth it to try and fix the switch box?
in case anyone needs to know- i have a Viewsonic PF790 (CRT)
 

Kerri Ann

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
995
ok, i guess i hadn't made it clear that my monitor is fine.
if i disconnect the switch box and plug my monitor directly into my computer, my monitor is crystal clear, no problems at all.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2003
Messages
511
U can try opening up the switch and clean it out. Other than that i dont see that theres much else u can do.
 

Kerri Ann

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
995
thanks guys, dai, i was in a bad mood- i didn't mean to come off so crabby... :)
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2003
Messages
120
Did you check to make sure the pins on the VGA out are all present & accounted for (no pins bent/broken/missing)? Also, do you get the bad picture from all channels on the switch?
 

Kerri Ann

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
995
well, theres only to channels, and i tried switching them up...
about the pins, my original vga cables has only 12 pins, the two i bought have 14 and 15, what's that all about?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top